Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
The key to this recipe is rinsing the kalamatas and the anchovies really well. To the person who said it doesn't look pretty: I suggest that you present it with a thin layer of bread crumbs sprinkled over the top of it. Or, use cookie-cutters (stars, hearts, lighthouses, whatever) to cut shapes out of mozzarella or provelone slices to place on top of it. More generally, I think this is better suited to being offered as a canape (read: served already spread on the slices of bread). I agree that the general public might not choose to test a bowl of black mushy stuff. Plus, a little goes a long way; someone unfamiliar with tapenade might try a huge heaping tablespoon on a tiny piece of bread and be overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Very tasty and never had anything quite like it. The garlic was a little strong so will cut down to 1/2 garlic clove next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Excellent recipe for an appetizer! I broiled pieces of pita bread sprinkled with olive oil, garlic powder, and salt until golden brown. It accompanies the recipe very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This was a hit before our dinner with friends last evening. I served it with one of those small sliced party loaves of rye bread. And best of all, so EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe, however, it was to puree'd by the time you get the oil added in. The second time I made this I used my food processor and added the garlic, olives, anchovies and capers and omitted the rest of the ingredients (thyme, rosemary, lemon juice and oil) and we liked it a lot more. It was more of the original italian tapenade without being overwhelmed with the herbs and lemon juice. Being able to omit the oil was a bonus! If you like it thin then Jim's recipe is ideal for mixing with hot pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Fabulous! I added additional fresh herbs - parsley, basil, fresh grated parmesan with a dollop of good olive oil in the food processor. Excellent taste. I served on small toasts with a italian parsley leaf and small square of roasted red pepper as garnish - beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
While the flavor wasn't bad, the dip doesn't look so appetizing. As a result, a lot of my guests just skipped over it. Most of them had never heard of Tapenade & were not moved to taste it. Threw most of it out. Big waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was VERY yummy and EASY to make. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and did it in a processor. It is great as a spread on a sandwich or on a cracker. Don't let the anchovies sway you to not make.....you can't even taste them. This will become a staple, Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I tried this with what I had on hand, only had regular black olives and green pimento stuffed olives. I then used it as a base for an artichoke pasta salad and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was pretty good. The anchovies took away from the olive taste and really added more salt then necessary. I substituted sun dried tomatoes for the capers. Big hit for people who like olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States