Tanya's Jamaican Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe was a true hit. I made it on Easter. I'm not a baker but this bun came out moist, and authentic. If you put it in a large bunt pan you have to bake it for 2 hours. Great job Tanya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vee234
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
So delicious! Followed the recipe exactly but I put 1 1/4 cups of brown sugar by accident. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Thank you Tanya for sharing. This was a moist bun...not dry like the ones in the store. Being the "health nut" that I am, I substituted half of the flour with whole wheat flour. I used creamer instead of milk and I added 1 tsp of dark rum (as someone else had mentioned). I think the next time I make this (next week) I will use Guinness Stout instead of the beer. Ate it with sharp cheddar cheese. Yummy. I was able to make 2 loaves which filled the loaf pans about 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This bread is amazing! My husband is Jamaican and Loves it! The second time I made it I added a little more raisins and added in some spiced Jamaican rum. The Spiced Rum made it even better! I absolutely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this for friends of mine & they said it was 10 times better than the bun they get overcharged for at their local jamaician stores! I added diced cherries as well. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBomb
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is excellent thank you for sharing! Much easier to make it than look for a store that sells it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I enjoy this bun. I love it. It real good. I have been searching for spice bun and this is the best one I found. Simple but nice. The only thing the change was beer. I use water and cap full of white rum. Good job Tanya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
this is a great recipe! turned out perfect!! i wouldn't change a thing! although, it did make only one loaf pan. thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States