Tante's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
An absolutely scrumptios apple pie. Really easy, too. I loved the way the streusel carmelized...turning it into a flaky, spicy, melt in your mouth delicacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Delaware, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe for our family. I made a gluten free version (which is easy to do because of the amount of flour used) substituting 3/4c rice flour, 1/4c potato starch and 1/4c tapioca starch for the all-purpose flour in the crust and just rice flour in the topping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I was not impressed with the recipe. The pie came out really liquidy, and after an hour, the crumble on the top had melted into the pie because it had so much liquid. Perhaps I will try it again, but toss a few tablespoons of flour or cornstarch with the apples, along with some cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I ysed this filling with a traditional pie pastry... simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megapixie
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving - truly delicious! I doubled the recipe and used a standard 9x11 casserole dish...best with Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I thought it was a very nice way to do a pie...kind of a tart..but not really. I enjoyed it very much. I did however think it defeats the purpose of a "crumble" however when it just melts into the appples. Perhaps not covering it for the last 25 minutes would cause it to stay crummblt/crunchy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved this pie, the filling was fantastic. I left the foil off altogether. The topping turned out crunchy but not over doing it. I did add Minute Tapioca 1/3 of a cup, but i also haved the recipe. I did find that there wasn't enough pastry in the recipe to cover the bottom of an 8" X 8" square cake pan, so i did half with this recipe, and half with the never never fail pie crust that I had left over. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I also made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and it was delicious and very simple to make. Add a scoop of pecan ice cream on top and its perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My husband won't let me make any other apple pie now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I found that after I covered the pie for last 25 minutes, the topping turned to liquid. It didn`t quite have the look I wanted but, tasted good. Maybe I should have just covered the edges. Live and learn. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States