Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My husband said he would never eat meatloaf, but he sure does eat this one. I could never find pineapple reserves so I have tried sweet orange reserves, and also loved it with my grandmothers homemade white grape jam. My kids and husband enjoy it so much I double the batch and make sandwiches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsgibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Although tasty, this falls short of making my "favorites" list. Surprisingly, this tasted REALLY good considering the very few (and unique!) ingredients that went into making it. What I didn't care for was the texture. My hubs comment about this being "dense" (and he not liking the texture either) was spot on. We both also agree that the sauce should be applied IMMEDIATELY rather than half way thru baking. Since my loaf was done at the 40 minute mark, I did not have the opportunity to continue cooking so that the sauce would thicken / glaze (bummer!). :( NOTE: "To taste" is a VERY subjective measurement. Because my hubs and I both LOVE garlic, I added 1 t powder to my meatloaf. I also added a t of onion powder because we are used to onion in our meatloaf (what's a meatloaf without onion???). This was spot on for us. Mashed potatoes and a veggie medley in cheese sauce completed our meal. I'll definitely tinker with this a bit, but for now I think I'm going to stick with tangastar's brown sugar meatloaf. It's my all-time favorite! Thanks anyways, Stacy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I didn't have pineapple preserves but had a jar of homemade jalapeno pepper jelly. I used just a tiny bit less brown sugar than called for. Also took others' suggestions and added onions to the meat. Used "eggbeater" in place of egg. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Following the recipe to the letter but for the pineapple (I only had Apricot), the sauce was great. Taste was delish. Only problem was texture. It crumbled a lot while serving. I prefer the texture on the Lipton Onion Soup packet but I have to say, the sauce was so simple and yet so delish. Had a Hawaiian feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Used ground white turkey meat instead of ground beef, and added chopped bell peppers and onions, and a little salt and pepper. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I really enjoyed it ! Only added diced mushrooms an onions .Get dish THANK YOU !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUMPER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Helen, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as is and it came out super moist...but it was too sweet for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
It was so delicious. I added some fresh jalapenos, garlic, onion and green peppers. It was so yummy!! Nice new twist to meatloaf for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Yummy! I used crushed pineapple instead of preserves and doubled the recipe to insure I had leftovers. This one is a keeper, I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Hands down best meatloaf I've ever made. Even fed it to my mother (who NEVER veers from her recipes) and she loved it. And the best part is, the kids LOVE it!!! Try and get a 2 and 3 year old to eat all of their meatloaf and ask for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States