Tangy Vegan Crockpot Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Mary, vegan margarine exists, although many commercial varieties do not contain milk solids or butter products, and are therefore vegan. I check labels very carefully because my breastfeeding daughter is lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm a vegetarian and not a vegan so I didn't have any problem with using margarine. I used real milk, substituted green chilis for the red, and skipped the lime. It was totally yummy! My fiance made some homemade bread to complete the meal which I definitely recommend if you have a breadmaker. This recipe says that there are 6 servings but I think we will get closer to 10-12 out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Jaquess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Yum, this is tasty! Thanks for the great recipe. So many vegan recipes lack flavor, but this one is downright delicious. And you're right Mary, most margarine contains small amounts of dairy, but many are vegan. I use 'Smart Balance Light' or 'Earth Balance' depending on the consistency of the intended end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I don't have a slow cooker so I pre boiled the onion, chili and potato until jut soft, then put the rest of the ingredients in and put the pot into a very low oven for a few hours - this is really worth trying - I'll be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guzziowner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was way too watery. I ended up draining off most of the broth... I didn't drain my cans of corn, so maybe that was my problem. Unfortunately I didn't make this revelation until after I made a big mess with my first batch in the food processor. After draining most of the liquid off, this chowder had a really nice flavor. I didn't have red chilis so I subbed a small can of green chilis. I will definately make again and drain the corn and half the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The only reason I rate this with three stars is because my wife seemed to like it. I'm not sure what it was about this, weather it was the texture or the flavor but I did not enjoy this recipe, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for my first time out. My husband and I really liked the flavor, though it was too spicy for our three-year-old. The only thing I would change is that I wouldn't puree everything. We like our chowder a little chunkier, so I'll leave corn, potato and onion chunks aside when I puree next time. But I'll definitely make it again. My husband is a very confirmed meat/dairy eater and he had no idea this was vegan. I served it in bread boules for the adults and made mini-boules for the kids out of rolls. Fun, easy and warm/spicy on a cold New England night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
very good. a little spicy. cut chili powder in half if you're a weakling like me. also, i only blended 1/4 of the soup into mush. left the rest chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
very good,but if you really want it better,leave out the salt,use frozen corn and add some Mrs.Dash instead-for those of us on a low salt diet.Otherwise very good and just the thing an a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Umm... not terrible. Not great. I'm not sure what this was, but it wasn't corn chowder. The flavor is very intense. I'm not sure if it is a soup. I almost wanted to put it over rice as if it were an Indian dish (although it didn't taste like Indian food). My husband said he liked this, but he didn't eat the leftovers. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States