Tangy Vegan Crockpot Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Kind of bland of the firest try. Second try I left out the soymilk, salt and the parsley. Added a splash of beer and a 1/4 tsp cumin instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
meh. This wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything to write home about. I think that next time, I will add one of the cans of corn AFTER blending the soup, and maybe try to leave some potatoes in whole chunks. That may make it more interesting to eat at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this. Just changed a few thigs. I added more garlic, used real milk and real butter because I need calories. Otherwise it was very tasty. Oh I also used frozen toasted corn from Trader Vic's rather then canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Don't pass this one up! I was skeptical of the chili powder and chile peppers, but the flavors really worked well together. I skipped the parsley (I don't think it would really add too much) and lime juice because I didn't have any. Also cut back on the margarine by a few tablespoons (I use Earth Balance). Served with some crusty bread. Next time I make this I'm going to double this recipe because it went so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I used this soup to get a few meatless meals in on the kiddos. This went over really well (though I omitted the red chiles for them). I liked the tang which really sets this apart from the classic corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Because this was a dinner my children would be eating with me, I didn't use the peppers. This was fantastic ... even my picky 6-year-old ate it! Will surely make this again (hopefully with the heat!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Umm... not terrible. Not great. I'm not sure what this was, but it wasn't corn chowder. The flavor is very intense. I'm not sure if it is a soup. I almost wanted to put it over rice as if it were an Indian dish (although it didn't taste like Indian food). My husband said he liked this, but he didn't eat the leftovers. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
very good,but if you really want it better,leave out the salt,use frozen corn and add some Mrs.Dash instead-for those of us on a low salt diet.Otherwise very good and just the thing an a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
very good. a little spicy. cut chili powder in half if you're a weakling like me. also, i only blended 1/4 of the soup into mush. left the rest chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for my first time out. My husband and I really liked the flavor, though it was too spicy for our three-year-old. The only thing I would change is that I wouldn't puree everything. We like our chowder a little chunkier, so I'll leave corn, potato and onion chunks aside when I puree next time. But I'll definitely make it again. My husband is a very confirmed meat/dairy eater and he had no idea this was vegan. I served it in bread boules for the adults and made mini-boules for the kids out of rolls. Fun, easy and warm/spicy on a cold New England night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States