Tangy Turkey and Swiss Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
WOW! These are truly amazing!! We loved them!! They are sooo tasty. I was afraid the mustard and onions would be too much, but it wasn't. I put in slightly less than 1 TBS. thyme, but I think the whole amount would have been fine. Instead of doing these grilled-cheese style, I assembled them right on a cookie sheet (omitting butter completely) and baked in a 400 degree oven for 11 minutes. This, to me, is easier, plus it cuts out unecessary calories and fat. In addition to that, I used half light mayo and half regular. I also used whole wheat bread. These were so good! Messy to eat, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
DELICIOUS! Made these for lunch today with leftover turkey breast. OMG, these are out of this world! I just put these on plain sandwich bread and they were still amazing! The only thing that I would do differently is to cut down the Thyme a bit. These tasted like an expensive gourmet sandwich from a specialty shop. Thanks for the post, I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very tasty! The only changes I made was in giving every family member their choice of cheese and "grilling" the sandwiches in the oven. Placing the buttered sandwiches on a baking sheet in a 450 oven and baking for 8 minutes per side yields perfectly golden, crisp bread, melted cheese, and piping hot turkey and tomato. Great basic recipe! We'll try with other meats and cheeses soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Fantastic sandwiches! I was looking for something tasty that could be made ahead of time. So, I spread one side of the bread slices with the butter and grilled until golden. I then assembled the sandwiches as directed, not grilling after assembly. The result was a crisp buttery, crusty sandwich with a fresh, unique filling. They stayed crisp and tasty for several hours. I got rave after rave for these when I served them. I will definitely make them again. (Remember to watch the temperature of these sandwiches if you plan to serve later, as the filling contains mayonnaise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
My husband and I both found the 1 Tbsp. of dried thyme to be a bit overpowering - I would suggest starting out with 1/2 Tbsp. and adjusting it from there according to your personal taste. I actually think that if I try this sandwich again, I will either substitute dill for the thyme, or skip the recommended spread altogether and try a honey mustard. It would also be good with some crisp bacon and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I cut this back to two servings (one each for my husband and I). I used whole wheat bread for both sandwiches and he added avocado to his. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
These were wonderful! I followed the recipe but used rye bread in lieu of french. Even my husband enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This sandwich is FABULOUS! I love the bold, tangy flavor - and the recipe itself is very simple. A great meal for the whole family! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Annie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
These are great sandwiches to make, quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcrossy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These have been a consistent hit with my family and friends. If you're going for a gourmet taste make sure to use a good mustard and a good artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States