Tangy Turkey and Swiss Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Very yummy easy Friday night supper. I didn't fry them off in a frying pan but wrapped the sandwiches in foil in baked them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I cut this back to two servings (one each for my husband and I). I used whole wheat bread for both sandwiches and he added avocado to his. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were really good. I cut the recipe in half, but had enough ingredients to make 4 big sandwiches. I had to even put a toothpick in them to hold them together after they were done. I cut the amount of butter in half to, to 1 1/2 tblsp., and still found it to be plenty of cooking oil for 4 sandwiches. I also tried to lighten it up some by using low-fat mayo and lite swiss cheese. For the mustard I used dijon, because it is what I prefer. This was restaurant quality, in my opinion, even with dividing the ingredients among twice the amount of sandwiches. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delicious I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mruth2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I only made one sandwich for myself for lunch. I cut way back on the thyme using only a sprinkling. I measured everything else because I wanted to add up the total fat since it didn't seem right that this would have such a high fat content. I used 2 tsp mayo with one 1 tsp mustard. Didn't have any fancy bread so I used plaine old grocery store whole wheat bread spreading the outsides with 1/2 tsp margarine each. Used five slices of the thin deli cut turkey and only one slice of swiss cheese. This sandwich was great and after checking all my labels I got a total of 18 grams of fat, which may not be ideal but is certainly better than nearing 60!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This had a wonderful flavor from the thyme and was tangy/spicy from the onion and mustard. I used onion powder, havarti, plain white bread, and added some bacon to ours. It was different and my hubby wasn't sure at first about the flavor but in the end he liked this. I loved it from first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Yummy! I loved the chopped onion in the spread! I used an Italian seasoning instead of just thyme and that worked great! Also used ciabatta bread which was super good with this! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I gave this 4 stars bc I modified it slightly. I made the sauce per the recipe- it was delicious. Instead of buttering and cooking in a skillet, I wrapped each sandwich tightly in aluminum foil and baked for about 20 minutes to warm and melt the cheese. I will definitely make these again the next time I have leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This incredible sandwich is still settling in my stomach, as I just made it for lunch. I wanted something very fast and easy, but didn't feel like sitting down with another frozen dinner...then I came across these! I just used whatever I could find, so I ended up making the sandwich on Steak Rolls, using white onion, miracle whip, and dijon mustard along with the thyme. I also added some garlic powder to the spread, which was terrific. I didn't use any particular amounts of anything, instead just seasoning to taste. I also used provolone instead of Swiss cheese. I put the butter in my pan, as a steak roll is an odd shape to butter the outside of. I probably could have cooked it longer, my turkey was cold, but it left the tomato very fresh. This sandwich took about ten minutes to make the entire thing, and was DELICIOUS! I'll definitely make it again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
i liked it but some people meaning family didnt at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States