Tangy Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe can turn out pretty good but ONLY IF YOU CHANGE THE METHOD OF COOKING. Skip the water/poaching method -- that's just weird. What you need to do is saute the onion in some butter until browned and soft. Then, add in the tuna. Doing this really improves the flavours and makes for a very good dish. (good for on top of noodles or rice, or even as a sandwich filling, as strange as that sounds...) I recommend a little extra blob of butter right before serving if you are going to put it on pasta. :-) And a little S&P helps too. The recipe, as written now though, is really not that great, but like I said, with these changes it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was okay - I ate it all, but it was just kind of an odd recipe; I wasn't entirely sure the contributor was serious about this. I made it exactly as written, except for the cooking time. I used two small (3 oz.) cans of chunk light tuna in water, and one medium-large yellow onion. After 5 minutes of cooking, the onion was hardly cooked, so I probably cooked it for another 5-10 minutes. The onions "cooked down" a little bit, but I still thought there was too much onion; a small onion would have been better. I served this on a bed of no-yolk egg noodles, which helped round it out; otherwise I wouldn't have known quite what to do with this. This was just weird, and I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Sorry, this is a poor preparation even for canned tuna. Also, to clear up some confusion, there's no such thing as a vegetarian who eats seafood, because vegetarians don't eat the meat of any animal. Pescatarians, however, do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
"Hollybear" tuna may be considered as meat to *some* people, but many vegeterians eat seafood. Like the creator of this recipe, and ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sixx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Holy hay... Love, love, love this dish!! I am a nut for canned tuna anyway(actually I use the pouches now!) and I always have it on hand. I used to just eat it plain with a little s&p, but this is way better!! Plus, its so quick and easy to make. It really is delicious! I like to eat it as a main dish with some sauteed asparagus, and my fave, Kraft macaroni and cheese! (yep from the blue box!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I did not like this, even though I love onions and tuna. And BTW tuna is meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollybear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I didn't care for this recipe at all... if anything it only brought out the fishiness of the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
It was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

See how to make spicy tuna tartare with toasted cashews and coconut milk.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States