Tangy Tuna Black Bean Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I thought this is an excellent way to get tuna and beans into the kids. It was not thier favorite but everyone ate it all gone. They re heat very well. In fact I think they may be better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Didn't care for the taste. Any other meat and they would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I was looking for a different way to use up some canned tuna and this worked pretty well; it sort of reminded me of a cross between a tuna melt and a quesadilla. I didn't have every ingredient on hand, so I used what I had and made a few changes. The changes I made were: I used 1/4c mayo, 1/4c regular sour cream, dash of curry powder, tbsp of cilantro, used a can of seasoned pinto beans unmashed(sort of had a smoky flavor) rather than the refried black beans and corn (I have a hard time eating corn), used 1/4c of chunky salsa and a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot to replace the wing sauce, I used fresh minced garlic rather than the garlic salt, added salt and pepper to taste, and added a handful of cheese into the blend. I mixed everything together, spread it on half of the tortillas, topped meat mixture with colby-jack cheese, folded the "empty" side over, and stuck them under the broiler until warm, melted, and crisp. The tortillas that I used were actually spinach wraps that I had on hand, but they tasted just fine. I served these with sour cream. Overall I thought they were pretty good, and think the black beans and wing sauce might have made for a nice combo if I would have had those items. I definitely think the added seasonings would have been needed either way, to meld some of the flavors together. And like other reviewers, I think the author made a mistake in measuring their garlic salt, and they likely meant to say "one teaspoon". I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My family was dreading this dinner . . . "Tuna? In a quesadilla?" But I told them to keep an open mind. And I was quietly skeptical about combining tuna, black beans, and buffalo wing sauce, but it all worked well together and we all enjoyed these immensely. They even asked if we could have this again. Like others, I only used 1 t. garlic salt, instead of 1T. Plenty salty with that substitution. Also, I had not seen refried black beans before, but found Old El Paso at one of the larger grocery stores in the area. Great recipe! Keep an open mind and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I must say that the oddness of this recipe is what piqued my interest, when I received a daily e-mail. I was looking forward to trying it ever since and made it for lunch, yesterday. I, like many on here, also altered the recipe a bit. Rather than use wing sauce, I used chipotle Tabasco sauce. Instead of refried beans, I used whole beans, and I definitely held back on the salt. The chipotle flavor really set this thing off and made the 'dilla what it was. I was just having a hard time envisioning tuna with buffalo sauce and thought that chipotle would be more fitting. I halved the recipe, though I did go a bit heavy-handed on the sour cream, and it still made enough to completely fill two-nine inch tortillas. It's something that I will surely make again -- possibly even today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wow, I thought I loved tuna before, this is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Ok, just finished this and already thinking on what I would change. This is a GOOD base recipe. Right from the start I thought 1 tablespoon of Garlic Salt seemed a little much for my taste so only added a teaspoon, same thing with cumin 1/2 teaspooon (instead of full). Hot sauce measurement seemed fine. I used refried black beans with Jalapeno so the quesadilas had a little more kick. I think 1/2 cup of sour cream should be cut to a 1/4 (I used greek yogurt) and used butter spray rather than butter. Next time I think I will add some more shredded cheese as well. You could easily swap tuna with cooked chicken. Overall will keep this as a quesadilla recipe and tweek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My family rated this a10! The tuna was not overpowering which was a bonus (I used albacore tuna) I added a little bit less of the mixture as it stated and ate the leftovers the next day! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is very good! I don't like substituting ingredients when I first try a recipe, but I see why you would tweak a couple things. And so SIMPLE! When you work all day, you want "easy" when you get home. Or I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe, with a few tweaks....I used a teaspoon of minced garlic instead of the garlic salt, mexicorn-instead of plain sweet corn, and just regular black beans. I also made a sauce for either putting on the top, or using as a dip....using the wing sauce and sour cream....adding as much wing sauce as you like to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States