Tangy Tuna Black Bean Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My family was dreading this dinner . . . "Tuna? In a quesadilla?" But I told them to keep an open mind. And I was quietly skeptical about combining tuna, black beans, and buffalo wing sauce, but it all worked well together and we all enjoyed these immensely. They even asked if we could have this again. Like others, I only used 1 t. garlic salt, instead of 1T. Plenty salty with that substitution. Also, I had not seen refried black beans before, but found Old El Paso at one of the larger grocery stores in the area. Great recipe! Keep an open mind and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I must say that the oddness of this recipe is what piqued my interest, when I received a daily e-mail. I was looking forward to trying it ever since and made it for lunch, yesterday. I, like many on here, also altered the recipe a bit. Rather than use wing sauce, I used chipotle Tabasco sauce. Instead of refried beans, I used whole beans, and I definitely held back on the salt. The chipotle flavor really set this thing off and made the 'dilla what it was. I was just having a hard time envisioning tuna with buffalo sauce and thought that chipotle would be more fitting. I halved the recipe, though I did go a bit heavy-handed on the sour cream, and it still made enough to completely fill two-nine inch tortillas. It's something that I will surely make again -- possibly even today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wow, I thought I loved tuna before, this is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Ok, just finished this and already thinking on what I would change. This is a GOOD base recipe. Right from the start I thought 1 tablespoon of Garlic Salt seemed a little much for my taste so only added a teaspoon, same thing with cumin 1/2 teaspooon (instead of full). Hot sauce measurement seemed fine. I used refried black beans with Jalapeno so the quesadilas had a little more kick. I think 1/2 cup of sour cream should be cut to a 1/4 (I used greek yogurt) and used butter spray rather than butter. Next time I think I will add some more shredded cheese as well. You could easily swap tuna with cooked chicken. Overall will keep this as a quesadilla recipe and tweek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My family rated this a10! The tuna was not overpowering which was a bonus (I used albacore tuna) I added a little bit less of the mixture as it stated and ate the leftovers the next day! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is very good! I don't like substituting ingredients when I first try a recipe, but I see why you would tweak a couple things. And so SIMPLE! When you work all day, you want "easy" when you get home. Or I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe, with a few tweaks....I used a teaspoon of minced garlic instead of the garlic salt, mexicorn-instead of plain sweet corn, and just regular black beans. I also made a sauce for either putting on the top, or using as a dip....using the wing sauce and sour cream....adding as much wing sauce as you like to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I don't really like tuna, but I'm going to try this because it sounds so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I agree with lovetotry... Any decent cook takes a recipe and makes alterations to their liking. I cut back on the salt and added some fresh veggies. It was fine! Keep your food-police comments to yourself. Check out the nutritionals on fast food sometime - and don't tell me you never eat that at all. Great recipe Supertim99!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My husband LOVED these, and so did I! The kids liked them too! I tried to find "refried black beans", but ended up making my own. Next time I won't add as much of the canned black bean juice, made it kind of soupy, but it thickened nicely. Other than that, they were AWESOME. I love AllRecipes, all kinds of great things! And the app is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States