Tangy Tomato Tart (Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is DELICIOUS. Be sure to use whole seed dijon mustard. I was afraid the amount of olive oil would make it runny, but it emulsified enough and made a wonderful filling. I drained my tomatoes for a few minutes so they wouldn't wash out the tart, and baked it in a small stoneware pan. It did feel and taste like something I would eat in a French bistro or cafe. Simple, tasty, and divine! I look forward to making this for girlfriends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is truly delicious. I used a refridgerated pie crust in a regular glass pie pan. Didn't have fresh herbs so had to use dried. After placing the ingredients in the pie crust, instead of crimping the edges, I folded the excess over the filling.....about one ince. I did have to bake it longer to get a nice crisp crust, but it was absolutely to die for. Even the next day at room temp! Great recipe...thanks pocohr. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
"One of the top ten best" per hubby! We ate the entire tart for a light dinner. Fresh garden tomatoes were used along with oregano and thyme from the herb garden. I did use all of the tips in the AR Premier magazine: 1) Used a 400 degree oven. 2) Dust the pie crust with flour before spreading paste. 3) Used a blender to make the paste. 4) Topped the tart with the one sprig of oregano and thyme after it was baked. 5) Magazine time was shortened to 40 minutes due to the increased oven temperature; mine was done closer to 35 minutes. Thank you pocohr and AR for bringing this delight to our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe as is with changes as per the AR Magazine. I also used Roma tomatoes, so as to have less liquid in the pie. I think this helped greatly, since the pie was still just a touch on the too moist side. Also, instead of fresh herbs I used dry. That way they could be added into the pie mix and baked in without being burned. I layered the generously sliced tomatoes half-stacked on one another so that there was basically two layers, to help give the tart some depth. Finally, I had plenty of pie crust left over (home made) so I cut strips and laid criss-cross over the top. Taste: not as "tangy" as the recipe name would indicate. Not sure how to do it, but if the "tangy" factor could be raised would really be a great dish. However, was quite a nice dish. Even as a leftover it was good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I find this to be overly sweet. I think the fresh tomatoes are overpowered by the honey. I think I will try it again but cutting back on the honey, maybe 1/2 teaspoon at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I thought this was good, but if I make it again, I will either greatly reduce the amount of honey or completely eliminate it. I think I would have enjoyed it much more if it were way less sweet. Otherwise, it is a lovely and different way to serve garden fresh tomatoes. Thanks for sharing the recipe, pocohr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used a small ramekin and made individual. I also used diced Roma tomatoes. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I think the 6 Tablespoons of olive oil is a mistake and should be 6 teaspoons (2 TBS.) Noticed when blending that it was way to runny to "spread" as the recipe stated, so made a second batch with 2 TBS. and that was much closer to what the recipe described. On the whole, it really wasn't very tasty, so will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this last night. Didn't have a pie crust so used croissant dough. Found the honey to be too sweet for my taste. My husband really liked it. Will make again without the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreen K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
The tomato part turned out delicious. But the rest was too greasy! Not sure Ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States