Tangy Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Easy and delicious! Like others and as personal preferences: Used Miracle Whip, cooked my own shrimp and no peppers. Had chives in my garden so used those as well. Made it for a party last night and was asked for the recipe and my husband is still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this for new years eve and it was a huge hit.I feel guilty reviewing this as I did change a few things for personal preference and what I had on hand, but I'm sure it would be delicious as is. I did use miracle whip (I don't even buy regular mago anymore), omitted green pepper (not a fan), used regular frozen shrimp thawed and chopped, and added canned crab. Adding the canned crab was definitely a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
~~ This one is a TRUE WINNER. I have been making this for years. I use Miracle whip, instead of mayo (more tangy) and cheddar cheese, or marble. (I will have to try with mozzarella. The only other things I do diffrent is, I use 1/2 cup sour cream (instead if 1/4)and 1/4 cup of miracle whip (instead of 1/2 cup of mayonnaise) I also chill in the fridge for a couple of hrs. before serving. ** THIS IS A 5 STAR DISH ** (I would add more stars, but it won't let me) I wish I had a pic. to add. ~~ ENJOY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is an awesome dip....big winner every time I use it! Create a little ahead of time and the consistency is just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
An excellent recipe, the addition of mozza cheese and the combination of mayo/sour cream really added to an old Christmas recipe. Lack of ingredients prevents me from reviewing most recipes. I used the only cocktail sauce available, in town, mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is a staple for us on Festive Occassions. And a hit at parties. We double the recipe and do two large platters. Rather than using canned shrimp we purchase fresh shrimp and finely chop it. We also add one can of flaked crab meat. The whole thing is finished with mozza and we add lots extra. This dish tastes best after it has been refrigerated. When we serve it we use the mini round tortilla chips. Individual size for dipping. It never lasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Good flavor but consistency a little soft. Next time I will cut the mayo and sour cream in half. I served the shrimp on the side because I have friends that don't like shrimp, and it worked out great as a build-your-own cracker topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Some people also call it surprise dip and leave out the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States