Tangy Shrimp and Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and found the 1 hour marinating time was too much for the scallops. t overpowered their flavor and the citrus "cooked" them a bit changing the texture. The shrimp turned out fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I really liked this simple preparation for shrimp & scallops on the grill. I did sub Old Bay for the paprika. Served with lemon slices and several different sauces. Thanks for sharing, Lauren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This marinade was wonderful! I have a few tips. First of all, get large good scallops. Ours were very fishy, but the marinade helped to cover it up. Also, the recipe calls for 7 tablespoons lemon juice-for me that was approximately 2 lemons. Be sure to roll the lemons with some pressure prior to extracting the juice. (this gets more of the juice out) I made the skewers on a cuisinart panini maker and they turned out perfectly. This will be our standard shrimp marinade from now on. (it'd be our standard scallop marinade too, but in small town Nebraska we can't really find "good" scallops) Try this marinade, you won't be disappointed. Oh, one more thing..I tried sauteeing a few of the scallops that didn't fit on the skewer. This did not come close to how they tasted on the grill. I have tried several other marinades from Allrecipes and find this to be THE best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This marinade makes shrimps very yummy! Instead of scallops I added bell peppers and pineapple slices. I also added a tbsp of brown sugar to the marinade to add depth of flavor. The marinade may seem on the sour side but the shrimp don't turn out that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
very good and easy recipe. would be excellent if it had just a little more flavor. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I ended up just using the shrimp with out the scallops and it was great. The best shrimp that i have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allymathis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sawdusta
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was served to family at our Mothers Day get-together and everyone loved it!! Will definately make this again soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sawdusta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I'm so sorry, but this was awful. It was a bizzare blend of flavors and I'm thinking it was the Worsh. sauce. My husband agrees. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I didn`t have paprika but tried the recipe without it. 1st time serving was at a family get together and everyone loved it. Great flavour without hiding the taste of the shrimp and scallops. Everyone wants me to make it for the next family event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States