Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I rate this a 3 because my family wouldn't eat this until it sat for a day or so. Needed time to mellow...maybe I'll make this ahead of time next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good. Don't use all the poppy seeds though. Unless you realllly love them. Just add a few and see how it is, then adjust to how many you think looks/tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is a great subtle addition, it is not at all overpowering to the natural taste of the fruits. It's a different and still healthy to enjoy summer fruit. I used all fresh fruits instead of canned just on personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Home run with eveyone at my son's birthday bbq. Will definatly be making this one again. Thanks for this one=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNBOSS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
It is excellent. We have made it many times for company and after dinner dessert. Everyone loves it. I don't add poppy seeds because of our very young children who love this salad/dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Well, I'm not a fan of fruit salad in general, I had neither a fresh orange nor tinned pineapple, but I also was feeling like all I've been serving for dessert lately is a bowl of one type of fruit per evening. So I made this with a tin of mandarin oranges (forgetting my husband's childhood-bred aversion to them--oops) and fresh pineapple, just squeezing juice out of the rinds into the dressing as I went, and, remembering some of these reviews, jerking my hand back before the whole teaspoon of poppy seeds tumbled in. Oh, also, I had no kiwi, but did toss in about 1/2 pint of fresh blueberries. And it was all terrific! Is it the poppy seeds that make it taste so special? Whatever. I'm thinking of making another to bring to a pool party next week. Katy, you've converted me to a fruit salad fan! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is such a delicious fruit salad recipe. I did use canned orange segments instead of fresh; I did add bananas; and I did decrease the amount of poppy seeds. All in all, it is on my list of favorite 'company' salads. Thanks, Katy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Wonderful! I served on the side of a Carribean meal of jerk chicken and pineapple rice. I didn't have fresh limes, so I used bottled Key lime juice, and it was still terrific. I agree with others about cutting down the poppy seeds - 1/2 tsp. was plenty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Great mix of fruit. Dressing adds a nice flavor to the fruit. This dish was enjoyed by all who ate it. I did use fresh pineapple and less sesame seeds. Next time I would use red grapes instead of green for some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This salad was a huge hit at a recent family get together. I scaled the recipe to 8 servings and it was fantasic. Substituted fresh pineapple for the canned. Also reduced the amount of poppy seed as suggested by other reviewers. This is a really nice light dessert that I will enjoy again and again. A big thumps up for this one. Try it, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Katy for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States