Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Love it! I used canned mandarin oranges because the fresh oranges didn't look all that great. I used fresh pineapple because there is nothing better! It turned out wonderful. Love the honey/lime dressing! thanks for the great recipe, Katy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
YUM!! This is really good! I added a bit more honey because it was a bit too tangy at first. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scholls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A fruit salad is only as good as its parts...I'm giving this recipe three stars because I was not terribly impressed with the results of using canned pineapple. I found it produced a somewhat bland, watery sauce. That said, I like the idea of the recipe and will DEFINITELY make it again using fresh pineapple instead. The combination of citrus and honey is a delicious enhancement to fresh fruit without being overbearing. I have no doubt that using ll fresh fruit will make this a five-star fruit salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this recipe as is for my fiance's family on the 4th of July. It was super easy to put together and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Excellent and easy to make. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, and I used orange juice instead of reserved pineapple juice. I also used the recommended 1/2 tsp poppy seed. I might add more next time. It has a delicious tang from the lime juice and lemon zest. There was not a single piece of fruit left at brunch. This was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made this for an Easter picnic and everyone loved it; one of my friends even asked for the recipe! I did use fresh pineapple instead of canned and I think I would put in less poppy seeds next time too. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabet42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Made this yesterday for a group of 20 and this was a big hit. Excellent and quick. I did cut down a bit on the pineapples and increased the oranges. Our 5 year old who is very picky on the fruits enjoyed it a lot. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I rate this a 3 because my family wouldn't eat this until it sat for a day or so. Needed time to mellow...maybe I'll make this ahead of time next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good. Don't use all the poppy seeds though. Unless you realllly love them. Just add a few and see how it is, then adjust to how many you think looks/tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is a great subtle addition, it is not at all overpowering to the natural taste of the fruits. It's a different and still healthy to enjoy summer fruit. I used all fresh fruits instead of canned just on personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States