Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Well, I'm not a fan of fruit salad in general, I had neither a fresh orange nor tinned pineapple, but I also was feeling like all I've been serving for dessert lately is a bowl of one type of fruit per evening. So I made this with a tin of mandarin oranges (forgetting my husband's childhood-bred aversion to them--oops) and fresh pineapple, just squeezing juice out of the rinds into the dressing as I went, and, remembering some of these reviews, jerking my hand back before the whole teaspoon of poppy seeds tumbled in. Oh, also, I had no kiwi, but did toss in about 1/2 pint of fresh blueberries. And it was all terrific! Is it the poppy seeds that make it taste so special? Whatever. I'm thinking of making another to bring to a pool party next week. Katy, you've converted me to a fruit salad fan! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A fruit salad is only as good as its parts...I'm giving this recipe three stars because I was not terribly impressed with the results of using canned pineapple. I found it produced a somewhat bland, watery sauce. That said, I like the idea of the recipe and will DEFINITELY make it again using fresh pineapple instead. The combination of citrus and honey is a delicious enhancement to fresh fruit without being overbearing. I have no doubt that using ll fresh fruit will make this a five-star fruit salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used two cans of mandarin oranges, a can of pineapple, two kiwis, two small packages of blueberries and a package of strawberries and maybe a cup of grapes. Given how much fruit I used, I figured I'd double the "dressing," but ended up with a little too much liquid. I think I could have left the liquids the same, but still used the full teaspoon of poppy seeds and been just fine. Even though it was a little liquidy in the bottom, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
A wonderful combination of fruits! You could also add a bit of sliced banana right before serving. The dressing was just the thing to tie it all together, but I would use less poppy seeds next time. Terrific...thanks for sharing Katy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Good fruit salad Katy. I didn't have the strawberries, so I added an extra orange. The lime dressing is really good. I'm not sure if you need as many poppy seeds as the recipe calls for. I just sprinkled what I thought was enough over the top. Will be a great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Awesome, I also added chopped walnuts. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made this for an Easter picnic and everyone loved it; one of my friends even asked for the recipe! I did use fresh pineapple instead of canned and I think I would put in less poppy seeds next time too. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabet42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good. Don't use all the poppy seeds though. Unless you realllly love them. Just add a few and see how it is, then adjust to how many you think looks/tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We love this! I just use whatever fresh fruit I have on hand and it is a perfect light, refreshing addition to any menu. This time, I had fresh pineapple, watermelon, mango, blackberries, strawberries, kiwi and pomegranates. The dressing is a perfect match (omitted the poppy seeds.) We will continue to enjoy this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great Recipe. A nice addition is to add sliced Starfruit to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States