Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Taste was excellent. I've taken it to an outdoor party, a work potluck and made it today at home. Well received at the party and home-not well liked at work. May have been the poppy seeds-people kept asking, "What are those black things?". I omitted the lime zest and the poppy seeds at home (the lime was zested out!) and I liked that one best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
It taste great and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family & Friends

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was just "ok". I used fresh pineapple and also added Rasberry, Blueberry and Mangos. The dressing was alittle too tangy. I think I would change that up next time. I thought it had too much lime-citrus taste for the salad and didn't blend well with the other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
What can I say? It tastes like a fruit salad, which is as good as your fruit is fresh. Four stars because the poppyseeds were a bit much. Added some blueberries I had on hand for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Using canned pineapple for this salad gave it an artificial taste to me. All the other fruits were so fresh and wonderful. The dressing was good - next time I'll try it with fresh pineapple; I think that will make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good! I added some mango and blueberries too and used fresh pineapple rather than canned. Served it to friends and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Love it! I used canned mandarin oranges because the fresh oranges didn't look all that great. I used fresh pineapple because there is nothing better! It turned out wonderful. Love the honey/lime dressing! thanks for the great recipe, Katy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
YUM!! This is really good! I added a bit more honey because it was a bit too tangy at first. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scholls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A fruit salad is only as good as its parts...I'm giving this recipe three stars because I was not terribly impressed with the results of using canned pineapple. I found it produced a somewhat bland, watery sauce. That said, I like the idea of the recipe and will DEFINITELY make it again using fresh pineapple instead. The combination of citrus and honey is a delicious enhancement to fresh fruit without being overbearing. I have no doubt that using ll fresh fruit will make this a five-star fruit salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this recipe as is for my fiance's family on the 4th of July. It was super easy to put together and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States