Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was quite good! Tasted it as written, then doubled the lime juice- thought it needed more tang. Also added a small watermelon, and that was the BEST part once it soaked up the juices. Leftovers were a little soggy the next day, but made an awesome smoothie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious! It did make a lot of dressing. I doubled the fruit & singled the dressing & it was still a lot...but delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good. Followed recipe to the letter. Always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We love this! I just use whatever fresh fruit I have on hand and it is a perfect light, refreshing addition to any menu. This time, I had fresh pineapple, watermelon, mango, blackberries, strawberries, kiwi and pomegranates. The dressing is a perfect match (omitted the poppy seeds.) We will continue to enjoy this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
didn't really like the salad...just tasted like pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Wonderful, light, tangy fruit salad. I made a few changes based on what fruit I had in the house. First I used fresh pineapple and used mandarin oranges, so I didn't cut them. Since I didn't have any reserved pineapple juice, I used a kiwi strawberry blend that my kids were drinking at the time and used lemon instead of lime juice. I think this recipe lends itself to make it however you want with different fruits and juices. I think it would be great just the way the recipe is written, but was also great the way we had it. I love the crunch of the poppy seeds, the sweet fruit, the slightly tart dressing, and most of all, the fact that my kids loved it. Thanks for a great, healthy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent selection for breakfast or side dish/dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used two cans of mandarin oranges, a can of pineapple, two kiwis, two small packages of blueberries and a package of strawberries and maybe a cup of grapes. Given how much fruit I used, I figured I'd double the "dressing," but ended up with a little too much liquid. I think I could have left the liquids the same, but still used the full teaspoon of poppy seeds and been just fine. Even though it was a little liquidy in the bottom, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I'm giving this five stars on the basis of my single substitution of fresh pineapple and pineapple nectar in place of canned pineapple with its juice. With this in mind, let me say that this recipe couldn't get any better. All the ingredients were right on target and the perfect amounts. There are a lot of reviews saying to cut back on the poppy seeds, don't. Please try it as written before you make any changes because the poppy seeds set this recipe over the top and were not overpowering. Simply put, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robena Barton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States