Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
What can I say? It tastes like a fruit salad, which is as good as your fruit is fresh. Four stars because the poppyseeds were a bit much. Added some blueberries I had on hand for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Using canned pineapple for this salad gave it an artificial taste to me. All the other fruits were so fresh and wonderful. The dressing was good - next time I'll try it with fresh pineapple; I think that will make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good! I added some mango and blueberries too and used fresh pineapple rather than canned. Served it to friends and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Love it! I used canned mandarin oranges because the fresh oranges didn't look all that great. I used fresh pineapple because there is nothing better! It turned out wonderful. Love the honey/lime dressing! thanks for the great recipe, Katy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
YUM!! This is really good! I added a bit more honey because it was a bit too tangy at first. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scholls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A fruit salad is only as good as its parts...I'm giving this recipe three stars because I was not terribly impressed with the results of using canned pineapple. I found it produced a somewhat bland, watery sauce. That said, I like the idea of the recipe and will DEFINITELY make it again using fresh pineapple instead. The combination of citrus and honey is a delicious enhancement to fresh fruit without being overbearing. I have no doubt that using ll fresh fruit will make this a five-star fruit salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this recipe as is for my fiance's family on the 4th of July. It was super easy to put together and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Excellent and easy to make. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, and I used orange juice instead of reserved pineapple juice. I also used the recommended 1/2 tsp poppy seed. I might add more next time. It has a delicious tang from the lime juice and lemon zest. There was not a single piece of fruit left at brunch. This was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made this for an Easter picnic and everyone loved it; one of my friends even asked for the recipe! I did use fresh pineapple instead of canned and I think I would put in less poppy seeds next time too. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabet42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Made this yesterday for a group of 20 and this was a big hit. Excellent and quick. I did cut down a bit on the pineapples and increased the oranges. Our 5 year old who is very picky on the fruits enjoyed it a lot. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States