Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
A big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Made this for a family holiday gathering and everyone loved it! Some simple changes made: decreased sugar from 3/4 to 1/2 cup and used sliced almonds in place of walnuts. Only needed to use 50% of the dressing. Will make often! Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Delicious. My housemate first wondered about the addition of ketchup, but then everybody kept on wondering what the lovely dressing was made of... Ketchup came as an enjoyable surprise to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I made this for our neighborhood holiday party and people were very complimentary. I used 1/2 of the dressing it called for and it was still well coated. I added some mini plum tomatoes for color. Great recipe and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
this was a hit! I made it last night when we had guests over and they all couldn't stop telling me how great the taste was! I used feta cheese instead of bleu cheese since I didn't have any and it was still delish! I was making it for 5 people and changed: one head of lettuce, no red onion, one pear, toasted pecans (handful), about 3 ounces of feta. and for the dressing: 3 tbsp. distilled white vinegar, 1 tbsp. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tbsp. ketchup, 4 tbsp. olive oil. still tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great salad.The recipe does make too much dressing for the amount of salad made though.Iused a bit less sugar than called for,to taste.I also used toasted pecans the last time I made this instead of toasted walnuts and liked it better.....it also is just fine without the toasting when I am short on time.For people like us who are not crazy about blue cheese,feta is a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GONZOW
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a really great recipe. I candied my nuts before adding and it made it even better. (cook with a bit of butter and sugar until glazed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Phenomenal recipe - received rave reviews for this one! I substituted Balsamic Vinegar for White Vinegar, and Carmelized Pecans (just melt 1c sugar in pan and toss in pecan halves) for Walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
From Lara Mashburn: After making this so many times, I agree, too much dressing. I use half the dressing, and rather than tossing it to coat the salad, I let my family drizzle it over the salad. That way, you can save the salad for leftovers (even though the pears get a bit soggy) the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have made this twice for my husband's family and have gotten rave reviews both times. I agree that it makes too much dressing - I really only use 1/4 - 1/3 of what it makes. I learned the first time to double the recipe because it goes so fast. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States