Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Made this for a family holiday gathering and everyone loved it! Some simple changes made: decreased sugar from 3/4 to 1/2 cup and used sliced almonds in place of walnuts. Only needed to use 50% of the dressing. Will make often! Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
this was a hit! I made it last night when we had guests over and they all couldn't stop telling me how great the taste was! I used feta cheese instead of bleu cheese since I didn't have any and it was still delish! I was making it for 5 people and changed: one head of lettuce, no red onion, one pear, toasted pecans (handful), about 3 ounces of feta. and for the dressing: 3 tbsp. distilled white vinegar, 1 tbsp. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tbsp. ketchup, 4 tbsp. olive oil. still tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Delicious. My housemate first wondered about the addition of ketchup, but then everybody kept on wondering what the lovely dressing was made of... Ketchup came as an enjoyable surprise to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Phenomenal recipe - received rave reviews for this one! I substituted Balsamic Vinegar for White Vinegar, and Carmelized Pecans (just melt 1c sugar in pan and toss in pecan halves) for Walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Wow, this blew me away. I was planning on making a pear - bluecheese - walnut salad but i wasn't sure what dressing to use on it. I tried this and loved it. Unfortunately it takes a disgusting amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
From Lara Mashburn: After making this so many times, I agree, too much dressing. I use half the dressing, and rather than tossing it to coat the salad, I let my family drizzle it over the salad. That way, you can save the salad for leftovers (even though the pears get a bit soggy) the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was yummy! I didn't have fresh pears so subbed some canned sliced pears & I subbed white wine vinegar for the distilled white. I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts...next time I will not chop the pecans as small, I think it needs some bigger chunks. I used gorgonzola cheese & loved the flavor it added & I topped the salad w/ some leftover grilled chicken. This did make wayy to much dressing for the salad put it is a good dressing that can be used for many other salads...it was kinda reminiscent of French dressing but lighter. Served the salad w/ gewurztraminer (a white wine that pairs really well w/ both chicken & pears) & some club crackers & it was a very nice, Spring meal that was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I definately agree that the dressing should be halved, waaaaay too much. I made this salad for our Canadian Thanksgiving and everyone went crazy for it!! I changed it to 8 servings and no one could get enough! Goes great with Turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLOBABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Really yummy. Next time I will use more blue cheese. Also, this makes enough dressing for two salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I made this for our neighborhood holiday party and people were very complimentary. I used 1/2 of the dressing it called for and it was still well coated. I added some mini plum tomatoes for color. Great recipe and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States