Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
this was a hit! I made it last night when we had guests over and they all couldn't stop telling me how great the taste was! I used feta cheese instead of bleu cheese since I didn't have any and it was still delish! I was making it for 5 people and changed: one head of lettuce, no red onion, one pear, toasted pecans (handful), about 3 ounces of feta. and for the dressing: 3 tbsp. distilled white vinegar, 1 tbsp. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tbsp. ketchup, 4 tbsp. olive oil. still tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Made this for a family holiday gathering and everyone loved it! Some simple changes made: decreased sugar from 3/4 to 1/2 cup and used sliced almonds in place of walnuts. Only needed to use 50% of the dressing. Will make often! Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great salad.The recipe does make too much dressing for the amount of salad made though.Iused a bit less sugar than called for,to taste.I also used toasted pecans the last time I made this instead of toasted walnuts and liked it better.....it also is just fine without the toasting when I am short on time.For people like us who are not crazy about blue cheese,feta is a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
My husband really enjoyed this salad, however I thought it was just ok. I think there was too much dressing and the ketchup taste was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I definately agree that the dressing should be halved, waaaaay too much. I made this salad for our Canadian Thanksgiving and everyone went crazy for it!! I changed it to 8 servings and no one could get enough! Goes great with Turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLOBABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I also halved the amount of dressing I made and was very happy with the results. Personally, I would take care to make just enough as this salad does not make for good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I reduced the recipe to three servings and it still made way too much dressing. The sugar needs to be reduced greatly on this recipe. While the taste was good, the sweetness was just too much for me. Interesting to use ketchup in a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This was a great dressing, I used balsamic vinager in place of white vinager. I also used sugar glazed pecans, walnuts and almonds. So GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I made this for our neighborhood holiday party and people were very complimentary. I used 1/2 of the dressing it called for and it was still well coated. I added some mini plum tomatoes for color. Great recipe and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Delicious. My housemate first wondered about the addition of ketchup, but then everybody kept on wondering what the lovely dressing was made of... Ketchup came as an enjoyable surprise to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States