Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a really nice recipe. I am always looking for new things to try, especially salads. I loved that the dressing was lite, and I loved how all the flavors fuse together. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
The recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was yummy! I didn't have fresh pears so subbed some canned sliced pears & I subbed white wine vinegar for the distilled white. I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts...next time I will not chop the pecans as small, I think it needs some bigger chunks. I used gorgonzola cheese & loved the flavor it added & I topped the salad w/ some leftover grilled chicken. This did make wayy to much dressing for the salad put it is a good dressing that can be used for many other salads...it was kinda reminiscent of French dressing but lighter. Served the salad w/ gewurztraminer (a white wine that pairs really well w/ both chicken & pears) & some club crackers & it was a very nice, Spring meal that was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Took this salad to a party tonight. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. It does make a lot of dressing but having extra dressing is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Really yummy. Next time I will use more blue cheese. Also, this makes enough dressing for two salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by GONZOW
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a really great recipe. I candied my nuts before adding and it made it even better. (cook with a bit of butter and sugar until glazed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Phenomenal recipe - received rave reviews for this one! I substituted Balsamic Vinegar for White Vinegar, and Carmelized Pecans (just melt 1c sugar in pan and toss in pecan halves) for Walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Wow, this blew me away. I was planning on making a pear - bluecheese - walnut salad but i wasn't sure what dressing to use on it. I tried this and loved it. Unfortunately it takes a disgusting amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
From Lara Mashburn: After making this so many times, I agree, too much dressing. I use half the dressing, and rather than tossing it to coat the salad, I let my family drizzle it over the salad. That way, you can save the salad for leftovers (even though the pears get a bit soggy) the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have made this twice for my husband's family and have gotten rave reviews both times. I agree that it makes too much dressing - I really only use 1/4 - 1/3 of what it makes. I learned the first time to double the recipe because it goes so fast. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States