Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a really nice recipe. I am always looking for new things to try, especially salads. I loved that the dressing was lite, and I loved how all the flavors fuse together. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
The recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was yummy! I didn't have fresh pears so subbed some canned sliced pears & I subbed white wine vinegar for the distilled white. I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts...next time I will not chop the pecans as small, I think it needs some bigger chunks. I used gorgonzola cheese & loved the flavor it added & I topped the salad w/ some leftover grilled chicken. This did make wayy to much dressing for the salad put it is a good dressing that can be used for many other salads...it was kinda reminiscent of French dressing but lighter. Served the salad w/ gewurztraminer (a white wine that pairs really well w/ both chicken & pears) & some club crackers & it was a very nice, Spring meal that was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Took this salad to a party tonight. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. It does make a lot of dressing but having extra dressing is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Really yummy. Next time I will use more blue cheese. Also, this makes enough dressing for two salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by GONZOW
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a really great recipe. I candied my nuts before adding and it made it even better. (cook with a bit of butter and sugar until glazed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Phenomenal recipe - received rave reviews for this one! I substituted Balsamic Vinegar for White Vinegar, and Carmelized Pecans (just melt 1c sugar in pan and toss in pecan halves) for Walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Wow, this blew me away. I was planning on making a pear - bluecheese - walnut salad but i wasn't sure what dressing to use on it. I tried this and loved it. Unfortunately it takes a disgusting amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
From Lara Mashburn: After making this so many times, I agree, too much dressing. I use half the dressing, and rather than tossing it to coat the salad, I let my family drizzle it over the salad. That way, you can save the salad for leftovers (even though the pears get a bit soggy) the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have made this twice for my husband's family and have gotten rave reviews both times. I agree that it makes too much dressing - I really only use 1/4 - 1/3 of what it makes. I learned the first time to double the recipe because it goes so fast. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States