Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
wouldn't change a thing. one of my favorite recipes. always get repeat requests to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Great salad. The recipe yields for too much dressing. I would cut it in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Like other reviewers, I was very skeptical about the ketchup. However, it really does complement the other ingredients well and adds a delicious kick. I skipped the sugar and added a few teaspoons of Splenda instead to cut back on the calories. I also skipped the red onion and thought it tasted great without it. It was a great hit - I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I love pears and cheese, but I don't like bleu cheese, so I made this recipe with feta. I didn't care for this but I'm sure this is just a personal taste. I'll stick to pears and cheddar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
If you are looking for a truly amazing pear/blue cheese salad, check out "Roquefort Pear Salad" on this website. Its one of the best recipes I've found on here. This one doesn't come close to that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Very good. This website gives you the option to scale down the servings so you don't end up with too much dressing. Just use the same amount of salad ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Not being a fan of Ketsup I substituted mustard (Dijon) with great success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I used olive oil and spinach, rather than romaine lettuce. The ketchup gives it a light, Russian or French dressing flair. Previous reviewers are right; the recipe creates more dressing than is required to dress a salad. However, this salad was such a hit with my husband that he was glad to see unused dressing on the counter after dinner, availabe for use in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
well received combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this for my mother-in-law for her birthday at her request. Maybe I should give it 5 stars, because she absolutely loved it! But I was sort of iffy about it. I like lots of dressing, but the amount that this recipe makes is definitely overboard. I kept the dressing on the side when I gave it to my mother-in-law so she could eat it whenever she wanted. Once the dressing is on, you have to eat it quickly or it gets soggy and unappetizing. I won't make this again unless someone requests it, because it just isn't my thing, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States