Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made this for my mom's 70th birthday party with absolutely no changes. Everyone loved it, asked for seconds and thirds-the bowl was empty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YankeesFan
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is one AWESOME salad! I only made 2 changes to the dressing, strictly out of personal preference: I omitted the sugar & used 1/4 cup Splenda Blend and I swapped olive oil for the canola & cut it down to 1/2 cup. What a wonderful mix of flavors -- even the kids had seconds! I served it with Spinach Quiche and the combo was superb -- hubby said his taste buds were "having a party"! Will be making this again very soon...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeesFan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was just amazing. Made it for Thanksgiving and evry1 just raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Weidman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myerstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this for two parties in one day. The first salad I had accidentally bought gorgonzola instead of blue cheese and am happy to report that it worked very well, I got requests for the recipe from people before they left. I saved half of the dressing and made the salad again that day for a dinner party, used the blue cheese called for and again, everyone loved it. I was skeptical about the ketchup, but it worked very well. I would be curious to see how this tastes with the dijon mustard substitution, I think I'll try that next time. The best compliment I got with this salad was "I think I could live off of this!" It was very easy to make and I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was an excellent salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I loved this salad, but I have to give it only 4 stars because the dressing calls for way too much oil and sugar. I used only 1/4 cup and only half cup of olive oil. There was more dressing than needed, but we added it as we desired. My boyfriend and I decided this was the kind of salad we should make the next time we have guests for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made this for a Memorial Day picnic. Substituted feta cheese for the blue cheese. Delicious. Next time I make it, I'll try splenda instead of the sugar and split the dressing recipe to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
awesome recipe.was not sure how the ketchup would work but it turned out wonderful.will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was a surprise! Didn't toast the nuts and changed the dressing to the following: 2 TBS sugar, 3 TBS olive oil, 2 TBS vinegar, 1 TBS ketchup, little bit of salt and pepper. I halved he rest of the recipe and used a 5 oz. bag of greens. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
An excellent recipe. I've used it for a number of special dinners and it always gets rave reviews. Even my most difficult-to-please critic said this was one of the best salads he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States