Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was simply delicious. I made the dressing with 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 white wine vingear, as well as a teaspoon of pure maple syrup and a pinch of pepper, and subsituted canola for olive oil. I also added dried cranberries which was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I used olive oil and gorgonzola cheese. A wonderful salad to add to my recipes! Husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Pretty good. The sweet and tangy goes well with the nuts and sharp flavor of good blue cheese. I used 1/2 cup agave nectar in place of sugar and also used balsamic vinegar only because I prefer the flavor over white vinegar. I also used olive oil instead of canola....again for flavor. This does make a HUGE batch of dressing, but I will used it to marinate chicken or fish with too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used white wine vinegar instead of regular distilled and used much less sugar (or Splenda, in this case). This will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turbogal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Delicious. I melted butter in a pan, added halved pecans, sprinkled sugar in the pan and mixed around until the pecans were glazed. Added those to the salad versus the walnuts and gave it a perfect sweet/tart mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolobtexas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This salad was excellent! The flavors blended so well together. I reduced the amount of sugar to 2 Tbsp and it was very sweet but it balanced well with the vinegar. I used mixed baby greens and baby arugula and omitted the red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Fabulous! I used feta rather than blue cheese and I used a big box of spring mix with 1/2 the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
WE LIKED IT, IT WAS GOOD- THE MISTAKE I MADE IS THAT I USED BABY ROMAINE- SPRING TYPE GREENS AND THIS SALAD DEFINITELY NEEDS A MORE "RUGGED" LETTUCE- IT WAS PRETTY LIKE THAT THOUGH!! I THOUGHT THE DRESSING WAS EXCELLENT!!! LEFTOVERS ARE NO PROBLEM AS I KEPT ALL INGREDIENTS SEPARATE AND MIXED INDIVIDUAL SALADS-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This dressing is y-u-m-m-y! YUMMY! I replaced the sugar with honey as it makes it creamier and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sullycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I checked out the other pear and blue cheese salad recipes on this site, but decided on this one BECAUSE of the ketchup in the dressing. French/Russian salad dressing is just about my favorite, and other reviewers indicated that this had a bit of that taste. I made the dressing with equal proportions of the vinegar (cider vinegar), sugar, and oil and just added it as needed because it was still too much even though I cut the oil amount in half. I also used gorgonzola cheese. Glad I tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States