Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is a great salad. It is a repeat for me. The tangy taste was refreshing from the run of the mill salads. It was so easy to make and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Delicious!!! I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is a very good version of similar salads I have been served in restaurants! I have one recommendation, though, which would help in ease of preparation. When you're making the dressing, gently heat the vinegar, stir in only a scant 1/2 cup of white sugar, so that it is incorporated (melted). Let cool, whisk in the ketchup, then slowly whisk in the salt and oil; set aside for an hour (covered) at room temperature to let flavors blend. (I used peanut oil, as I don't like canola oil, but that's just me! If you can't eat peanuts, then I suggest using vegetable or sunflower oil.) And as others had mentioned, you don't need that much sugar - I added a scant 1/2 cup, so start with a heaping 1/4 cup of sugar, and see if you like it, once you've added the rest of the ingredients. The ketchup will compensate, and the pears are sweet enough by themselves! Also, I don't know why everyone is questioning the use of ketchup in the prep for the salad dressing. Lots of great American-Chinese restaurants use this ingredient all the time, especially in shrimp dishes that are sweet and hot. Overall, though, the salad can stand alone as a nice lunch, with some good bread and sparkling water! Very nice - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
FABULOUS! I used iceburg lettuce and added dried cranberries to the juicy pear, blue cheese and walnuts which really made for a tasty combination. The dressing is fantastic and not overpowering. Since I did not use two heads of lettuce nor did I measure the salad ingredients, I served the dressing on the side. This salad was the best part of dinner. Next time I'm going to add chicken and it will be dinner!! Thank you LARAL for sharing such a FABULOUS recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Who would have thought this combination was so terrific? My changes were to use pecans (which I toasted in a little bit of butter), Swiss cheese and added 1/2 cup of craisins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Love this salad! I used splenda in the dressing, which I won't be doing next time. The recipe for the dressing did make more than necessary, but it was good so it'll be used. I'll be making another salad for lunch tomorrow. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
You can't lose with the taste combo of pears and blue cheese. Awesome salad. Make sure you toast the walnuts because it makes a big difference. The only change I would suggest is to use thinly sliced red onion instead of raspberries. You need a complement to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A super salad but I could not use the ketchup. I know, I need to let the concept of ketchup as a fast food treat go and use it as an ingredient. I also used red wine and balsamic vinegars along with EV olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have made this salad twice and I love it! I know that the salad dressing sounds a bit odd, but try it!! I think it is fabulous! Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Made it on Thanksgiving and it was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNASCHUBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyds, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States