Tangy Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
The only ingredient that I had to find was the Oriental mustard seed. I couldn't find the seed, but I did find the powder in bulk on Amazon. I make a homemade Dijon mustard for myself, but my husband prefers this spicier mustard. Between the two, we never buy store stone-ground mustard any more. This recipe is absolutely wonderful. I have to admit that we seldom wait a full 2 weeks before using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
A friend made this at Christmas and wow everyone loved it! We all asked about his recipe and he said this is what he used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this recipe as stated excepted I processed in a hot water bath like the original submitter of beer mustard stated... the mustard had really good flavor when I canned it, the thyme definitely was a powerful flavor... we'll see what a week or two in the fridge does... this recipe was very similar to the Beer Mustard with beer swapped in for some vinegar and no thyme... both these recipes are great recipes to experiment with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
TANGY! I had no idea that mustard was this easy to make. It definitely is spicy and tangy and is a nice addition to our favorite mustards. This really took me my surprise. Thanks for sharing pelicangal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good mustard. Dried thyme is not a favorite for me, so we omitted that, and I didn't have any oriental mustard seeds and omitted those, too. Nevertheless, the mustard is very good already even though we just made today. I added more honey to one of the jars, and that's great, too. I will definitely make this again! ADD'L INFO: I mixed some of this mustard with a bit of heavy cream to make a mustard sauce for grilled chicken and steak....AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
One word...delicious! I forced myself to wait the entire two weeks. I bought a fresh loaf of bread from the farmer's market this morning, got some premium lunch meat from the grocery store and sat down to one of the best sandwiches I have ever had...certainly the best I have made thanks to this mustard. I couldn't find the Oriental mustard seeds so I just used a teaspoonful of the powder. I no longer have to purchase mustard. No store bought mustard will ever compare to this homemade one anyway. Thanks pelicangal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
FANTASTIC!!!! Like others, I had to order the Oriental seeds, but that was easy enough. I too couldn't believe how much of the vinegar they were able to absorb! Who knew making mustard was so easy?!?! I've shared it with friends & family and we keep a jar in the office fridge - everyone Loves it! And "tangy" is the perfect description. Thank you, pelicangal!!! This recipe is SO a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This mustard is really good. I had a feeling I was going to like this very much. I special ordered the all the seeds. And it was rather easy to make...but I goofed on the 1st batch. I forgot the honey and it was totally a hot firecracker. It still has a bite even with the honey but it's all good. Now I choose to make 2 batches because I have a kid allergic to apples and I wanted her to be able to enjoy the mustard and not be told, sorry can't eat it. So I made a batch with Distilled White Vinegar and that's the one I forgot to add the honey. And it was flaming. The 2nd batch with the Apple Cider vinegar is the one I added a sugar free honey and it was also when I realized I forgot the honey on the 1st. I pulsed and grinded the mustard down as far as I could. We love it....You can totally leave out the Oriental mustard seeds if need be, that's where this recipe gets it's heat. I'm totally tickled stumbling across this recipe. It's a total keeper and it also helps with other ideas for mustards. Pelicangal, I salute your recipe. If I can make my family mustard verses buying it in the store. I've saved some money. Because the seeds in bulk, the ingredients that went with it, sure makes up the difference. I don't mind making fresh, when it's this easy. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This mustard was awesome! Like others I cant believe I made my own mustard. I had to order the mustard seeds on myspicesage.com. I gave a jar to a friend who served it at a get together and it was loved by all. I will be making this again when my stock runs low. Thanks Pelicangal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have not made this yet but my sister made this and gave some to me along with some mustard seeds and canning jars as a present. I am in love with this mustard. The texture is perfect and the taste is dead on for my preference. I go through alot of mustard and she said it was so simple to make. I will be making this soon...can not wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States