Tangy Jicama Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I love this recipe, but my boyfriend does not, so more for me. I added some ingredients from other variations I found which were 3 T. orange juice, 1 T. lemon balsamic or rice vinegar, 1T. olive oil and 1/4 t. red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okiecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newkirk, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a good BASE recipe. I added the chili powder after I made it at one other reviewer's suggestion to help. I probably won't make it again because no one in my family loved it. The kids (jicama fans) would not touch it after one bite. They actually asked if they could just eat the brussel sprouts on their plates instead. It was a weird moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
10-13-11: The best jicama recipe so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I have made this a couple times and it gets rave reviews. Instead of chopping the jicama, I put in my my food processor and shred it. It may be a little more work, but it makes a lot more salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TPABAYRICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
As it is, tasty and refreshing. I used a regular orange as I had one of those in the fridge. The saltiness was a nice counter to the sweet and sour . I love chili powder on my jicama so I sprinkled a bit on the salad. I liked it even better with that on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is just awesome!! My first time using jicama and I wasn't sure what to do with it -- except have it with dip. Then I found this recipe and I'm glad I did! I did add lemon and lime zests and I used "no sugar added" mandarin oranges and used all of the liquid from the can. I only had dried cilantro -- I used about a Tbsp and a half or so. Very yummy! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This has a really bright taste to it and was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I am new to jicama. This is so fresh and tasty that I will be preparing it a lot. I used a fresh orange and added a sweet red bell pepper. I also added 2 TBS of orange marmalade and the zest from the lime and the orange. No salt and no pepper. This is great as a salad, a snack and also tasty over fish or chicken or pork. I think the word "slaw" probably turns cooks away from trying this. I'm sure glad I did try it. Thanks for sharing. Also, the nice thing about the jicama is that it doesn't turn brown, just stays nice and white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
How did this have 3.5 stars when it only has 1 review that gives it 5 stars? I haven't tried it but am giving 5 just because I almost didn't look at it because it only had 3.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent, very close to what I had in Mexico, can use regular oranges also, everyone loved it at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States