Tangy Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Great recipe! I fixed this as part of a buffet for a Superbowl party, and it looked, smelled, and tasted wonderful. (Sadly, I can only assume it tasted wonderful because everyone raved about how good it was... but by the time I finished in the kitchen and got my plate - it was already gone, so I only got a few little scraps!) For ease of preparation, I fixed a fruit salad with it, and used the drained juice from the canned pineapple, and substituted 1/3 cup of orange juice because I forgot to buy an orange. It was much easier to make than other recipes I have used - yet tasted like it had taken a ton of effort. I normally use more complex recipes from the major cooking magazines that can require dozens of spices and ingredients, as I love to experiment with flavors and love gourmet food, so I was leary of how simple this was... but with a very limited budget and limited prep time for this party, I decided to try this one - and was VERY pleased. It looked delicious on the table, and it was the first to disappear on the buffet - I will be throwing away my other ham recipes, and sticking with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was an absolute HIT!! I do not eat Ham but I fed this to about 10 diffrent people and they All said it was fantstic! Instead of cooking it they way they did I made the glaze, put the ham and glaze in a bag, shook it up reall good and baked it in the bag for about 3hrs. Alot easier then basting every 10 min.s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was wonderful, I will be using this glaze on my ham from now on. I added pineapple rings and cherry's for the last 30 minutes and brushed the glaze over them, it candied and made for a wonderful garnish. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I put the ham in a roaster pan and poured 1 cup of water inside the pan as the ham instructions stated. It also said to cover the ham with foil, so I covered it with foil ONLY for 1st hour but I won't be doing that again because the outside of the ham started to get crispy too soon, so next time I'll cover the ham in the last 35mins of baking instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated and was quite satisfied with the results. I think I'm going to add 1 1/2 - 2cups of water inside the roasting pan because that water gets the ham moist and it serves as a "dip" when you glaze the ham. Any glaze that falls down to the bottom of the pan, falls into that water and it is delicious! Once the ham is done and you are ready to serve the ham slices, dip the slices of ham into that glazed water mixture at the bottom of the pan. It makes the ham so moist and you get to taste the glaze a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World_Diplomat03
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Excellent! My only variation of the recipe was that I spiked the ham with whole cloves and so I left out the ground cloves. From now on I will always use this recipe for my holiday hams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe is just incredible! I have gotten so many compliments.... my husband even volunteered me to make this for his work party at Christmas! The first time I made it I stuck exactly to the recipe and it was very good. I made some changes the last time because of the ingredients I had on hand, and it still came out wonderfully. I added more pineapple juice and used both golden and dark brown sugars. I also added some cinnamon, onion and garlic powder. Don't be afraid to play with this recipe... it's very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Very yummy! I made this for a surprise 50th birthday party and got many compliments! I used light brown sugar (didn't have dark on hand) and wrapped the ham in foil while baking so it didn't dry out. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated. This is a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe Elisa! Like others suggested, I doubled the glaze, but kept the cloves at a minimum. I had no trouble with the glaze burning on the bottom of the pan, but maybe that was because the instructions on my spiral ham suggested it be cooked at 250 degrees. I ended up adding cornstarch/water to the rest which made a delicious sauce. Thank you so much and no more packets for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
You cant ask for a better way to fix ham. The glaze was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Think like Austin Powers...YEAH BABY, YEAH! This is very tasty. My husband started the ham while the kids & I went to the mall & as innocently funny as it is, he put the ham in my Corning Ware quiche pan (ya gotta love him, as he really doesn't know any better), so needless to say I was verrry careful basting this one. It turned out great! I only had light brown sugar & used pineapple-orange juice (left over from new years eve Mai Tai's, because someone ate the orange). I was really on to the clove taste, so maybe I'll use less next time (maybe I'm not a fan?). Good recipe Sue, we will use it again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States