Tangy Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used an inexpensive 8 lb ham & trimmed off any really thick areas of fat. Diamond scored the outside. Placed the ham cut side down in a heavy disposable roasting pan with 1/2 bottle of Honey Brown Ale. Studded the ham with whole cloves vs using ground in glaze. Used 1/4 C real maple syrup vs honey & reduced brn sugar by 1/4C. I used orange juice (I had orange zest on hand) & reduced glaze down a bit longer. I heavily brushed glaze on initially prior to my tradition of toothpicking fresh pineapple rings on. Loosely tented ham w/foil for 1st 2 hours @300 degrees. Uncovered, then 'spooned' glaze on every 15 minutes for another hour at 325. The BEST ham and my company thought it was DELICIOUS! Moist, tender and using an electric knife makes slicing a breeze. Spiral sliced ham won't be going in my cart again, LOL. I didn't deviate too much from recipe and it's so easy. Tip: You can bake ham earlier in day, let it rest (loosely covered) for 30 minutes. At this point I slice & pile on oven safe platter, spoon on some drippings, cover tightly and re-heat about 15 minutes before serving. Makes my life in the kitchen easier with the sides, etc. needing the oven space...just a mention :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leal80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I put the ham in a roaster pan and poured 1 cup of water inside the pan as the ham instructions stated. It also said to cover the ham with foil, so I covered it with foil ONLY for 1st hour but I won't be doing that again because the outside of the ham started to get crispy too soon, so next time I'll cover the ham in the last 35mins of baking instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated and was quite satisfied with the results. I think I'm going to add 1 1/2 - 2cups of water inside the roasting pan because that water gets the ham moist and it serves as a "dip" when you glaze the ham. Any glaze that falls down to the bottom of the pan, falls into that water and it is delicious! Once the ham is done and you are ready to serve the ham slices, dip the slices of ham into that glazed water mixture at the bottom of the pan. It makes the ham so moist and you get to taste the glaze a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World_Diplomat03
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Been improvising this glaze for years. Stud the ham with cloves after cutting diagonal pattern on top. Decorated with pineapples as shown. Did not have Dijon mustard, so used brown mustard. Also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My first time cooking a ham. Followed the recipe as is and turned out GREAT!!! The orange (juice/zest) gives it a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good glaze. I served some extra at the table as a sauce and it was delicious. Perfect blend of sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
So good!!! I put the pineapple and cherries on top and used regular mustard since I didn't have Dijon. It looked like it could he photographed for a magazine and tasted like something I could impress with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This glaze was delicious. I used clementines, instead of an orange and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkibonz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made per the recipe, with one addition. I also studded the ham with whole cloves. Not too many cloves, but I am glad I did because it helped bring a little bit more of the clove flavor to the meat. Definitely a recipe to use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States