Tangy Egg Salad Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I did cut the mustard by about a third and added mayo until I liked the consistency. The flavors mellowed overnight and this was a very tasty salad (just maybe not for those who aren't keen on mustard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder. I didn't want this to be too salty. For us, this had WAY too much mayonnaise and mustard and not enough spices. If I cut back a bit on the condiments and doubled the spices, I think it would be a great egg salad. As is, it was too wet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Way too much mustard. The flavor was too overwhelming for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Reduce the mustard significantly, like maybe 1 teaspoon for four eggs (to start at least), and we've got something here - like a solid 4-star recipe. The fresh basil and parsley add color and a fresh, herby dimension to an otherwise standard egg salad. But prepared as written (which I didn't do), with this overload of mustard (and hot pepper sauce too, for that matter), I can't imagine how this would be palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
i used 1/2 the salt and added some chopped onion but this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
If you call 1 Tbs. a serving this may serve 20. I cut the recipe in half. I didn't believe the method of cooking the eggs but thought I would try it--it doesn't work here in Utah. I put about half as much mustard as the recipe called for and it was too much. I liked the basil, parsley & celery but will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Looked up recipes to use fresh basil and parsley and found this egg salad. Glad I tried it. Left out hot pepper and decreased mustard by half. Substituted garlic powder for garlic salt. Will make again. Basil flavor is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I found this recipe today when I was looking for an egg salad recipe that might be a little more flavorful. I didn't have parsley and I used dried basil, but it turned out great. It tasted like a deviled egg in a sandwich. If yellow mustard is not top on your list...I would go with suggestions and lower it just a little. I cut the recipe in half since it was just for me and I have plenty for another couple sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I didn't use hot sauce and had to use all dried spices. Other than being to salty it was delicious. I'll make this again with less salt and may even try the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was a great breakfast. Used less mustard & no salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States