Tangy Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I followed another review suggestion to add the dressing only to the hot potatoes after draining them and then toss the other ingridients together and then gently toss with potatoes. I used Ken's parmesan italian dressing. I also used dried dill and not fresh. I chopped a small sweet onion instead of green onions and added a 1/8 tsp of kosher salt. I took the potato salad on a picnic on our boat to watch a poker run and everybody loved it. It is the best potato salad I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I'm personally not a huge fan of mayonnaise in things, but this recipe was pretty tasty. I ended up using rosemary instead of dried dill just because that was what was in my kitchen, but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Just needed more salt! Add it when cooking your potatoes in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Be sure to use Red Potatoes. I didn't catch that in the recipe and therefore I didn't like it. I just know the red potatoes would be so much better in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very, very good! I added some fresh cut up cucumber (scooped out the seeds first) and used a Vidalia onion because I didn't have any green onions. Be sure to use FRESH dill. Quite yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Different, and good potato salad. I have plenty of potatoes and plenty of dill (now I now why they call it dill weed!) so I thought I'd give this a try. Bf thought it needed salt and pepper (he added at the table). I thought it was good w/o salt and pepper, but it did seem to be missing something for me. Perhaps some crunch? To be fair, I had to leave out the green onions since I didn't have them, but that's the only thing I left out. I think I might mean something like celery. Still, this is very easy and most of the ingredients most of us have on hand most of the time, so it's very nice that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
GOOD STUFF! added celey and hard boiled egg ~ took the onion out (dont like onions) my hubby loved it and he hates potatoe salad~ A+ with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
We eat a lot of potato salad in our household... this is going on the Top 5 list. I got a huge bunch of dill in this week's CSA box - surprise! - and have been frantically searching for dill recipes. We don't care for the traditional dill potato salad recipe; this looked like a good alternative and, in fact, was even better than it looked. I used the Good Seasons Italian (the kind that you mix yourself in the cruet, made with both apple cider vinegar and balsamic vinegar), and followed the rest of the recipe proportions pretty exactly. I had no green onions so I substituted about 1 Tbsp of diced yellow onion. Also, it makes quite a lot of dressing - I had plenty for 5 lb. of cooked potatoes even when following the recipe amounts for the dressing. My whole family loves it - my husband, who is suspicious of "new" recipes, my daughter, who "hates potatoes". Great combo of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very good variation to the plain mayo potato salad. I used red potatoes and I MAY not have had a full 3# (6 good sized red potatoes). It was very creamy, lots of flavor. I did use the dijon mustard and also added about 2T of finely diced red pepper for color. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States