Tangy Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I really liked this recipe. There are just a couple things I did differently. I made the dressing a couple hours ahead of time and refrigerated just the dressing to allow the flavors to blend. I then added the dressing to the potatoes while they were still fairly warm. Warm potatoes will absorb the dressing better than cold potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I've made this dish 2 times, and my family loves it! I took the suggestion of one reviewer and put the italian dressing on the potatoes while they were warm, and placed the potatoes in the refrigerator to chill. I then cut them in desired pieces, and added the remaining ingredients. This is our choice of potato salads, we've tried the traditional ones, but we're hooked to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Thank you for the idea to pour the Italian dressing over the HOT potatoes - the flavor of this potato salad is incredible. I omitted the dijon and put in 3 or 4 times the amount of dill. L-O-V-E this recipe. It's a keeper for life!! *I will reduce the amount of mayo next time just to save a few calories - it's creamy enough to make this adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Hubs said he didn’t care for this so much as it didn’t have enough “goo” in it. He also commented it was on the bland side. In my opinion he’s wrong on both counts! What he didn’t love about it is exactly what I did! It’s not overly gooey and mayonnaise-y – the dressing is lighter and fresher than the standard mayonnaise-based potato salads. I didn’t use the commercial Italian dressing, choosing to make my own light vinaigrette (3 parts olive oil to 1 part white wine vinegar and a little minced garlic). As for it’s being bland, what?! You’ve got the fresh taste of the dill, the green onion and the tang of the lemon juice and Dijon. What I really liked about this was that you could actually taste the potatoes! So I guess this might be called a dressing for potatoes, not potato salad, where the flavor of the potatoes seems to typically get lost. Three stars from him, five from me – four stars between us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My family really enjoyed this.The only things I did different was I added celery and dill pickles. I also used a regular onion because it was what I had.Very good recipe if you like food with a tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAMICHELLE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Pretty much as is, except didn't have green onion so used regular. And I always use fat-free Miracle whip and Italian dressing. Different, and I liked it, but nothing that 'blew me away.' I actually liked it better before refrigerating it. Had I read them, I probably would have followed the others' suggestion to only add the Italian dressing to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Not one of my favorites. Tasted like too much dill and too much onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Have made this twice and it was well accepted. Did as others said and put the Italian dressing on while potatoes were still hot. Had to cut potatoes in bite-size pieces because potatoes were large. Also added eggs & celery. Put all together then added mayo mixture. My 43 yr-old son still likes my "original."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Be sure to use Red Potatoes. I didn't catch that in the recipe and therefore I didn't like it. I just know the red potatoes would be so much better in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This potato salad is yummy! I was looking for a recipe for potato salad where I could lower the fat & cholesterol content without losing the flavor and this is the one! With regular egg & mayo potato salad, by the next day it might be tasting kinda stale. But this one is even better when it's "day old." The only thing I'll do different next time...is make it the day before. Thanks Lukeysmom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States