Tangy Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe. I love dill and have craved a potato salad with fresh dill. This hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was a refreshing change from other salads that I have had in the past. The number of ingredients was simple and left the palette clean. Not to heavy on the onion or over powering on the dill. My changes where... I cut the potatoes to about 3/4" to 1". I just under cooked them so that when they finally cooled they were fork tender. I really like dill so I almost doubled the amount. Because I made the salad a day ahead, that allowed some of the moister from the Mayo and Lemon juice to be absorbed in to the potatoes, and not be so goopy. Finally, right before serving I added freshly cooked crispy bacon bits for a little crunch and a little saltiness. Everyone liked and commented on the salad. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Five star review, 2 Thumbs ups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Increased the mayo to a cup, used fresh dill which I think was key, a tablespoon of dijon, and the juice from half a lemon in addtion to the other ingredients. Made this the day before serving so all flavors would meld. So good! Loved the Italian dressing in this. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Hubs said he didn’t care for this so much as it didn’t have enough “goo” in it. He also commented it was on the bland side. In my opinion he’s wrong on both counts! What he didn’t love about it is exactly what I did! It’s not overly gooey and mayonnaise-y – the dressing is lighter and fresher than the standard mayonnaise-based potato salads. I didn’t use the commercial Italian dressing, choosing to make my own light vinaigrette (3 parts olive oil to 1 part white wine vinegar and a little minced garlic). As for it’s being bland, what?! You’ve got the fresh taste of the dill, the green onion and the tang of the lemon juice and Dijon. What I really liked about this was that you could actually taste the potatoes! So I guess this might be called a dressing for potatoes, not potato salad, where the flavor of the potatoes seems to typically get lost. Three stars from him, five from me – four stars between us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The best potato salad I have ever had!!! It is requested of me at every gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin'sgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
made this for a bbq and it was a hit! i love dill and this was great way to dress up a normally boring potato salad ~ everyone wanted the easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was just OK. Nothing blew me away by it. I DO love the fresh dill in it- nice touch, but it was mediocre to say I'd put it in a rotation here at home. I also subbed 1/2 mayo 1/2 reduced fat sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
kinda twangy - but good. i would use less italian dressing next time and lots more dill. but still great and we will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The mixture was a little too tangy immediately after mixing together - but overnight in the fridge was perfect! Even my husband who won't eat mayo-based potato salad loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States