Tangy Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Broccoli tossed with Dijon just didn't appeal to me, neither in taste nor appearance. But cheese sauce made with Velveeta did! I don't think I've had that since my kids were still at home, YEARS ago. I do like Dijon mustard, however, so I mixed it in a bowl with the cheese and a little milk and microwaved it, making a creamy cheese sauce with a little Dijon tang that I drizzled over the cooked broccoli. Great memories of kid-friendly meals and good old-fashioned comfort food, updated with a Dijon twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Very simple and tasty! This was a great change from the plain cheesey broccoli I usually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Sounded better than it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good change of pace veggie dish. Everyone is able to adjust or add to their own taste buds and preferences, and I totally agree with Chef Clare, Please try and understand what you are talking about before you berate someones recipe, because you used substitutions or didn't make it properly.... Food and its preparation is an art and talent that not everyone has, but does have the capability of learning. An experience. Too many cooks spoil the recipe of origin. Make a new recipe of your own already..... Good recipe....Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
THIS WAS A DISASTER BUT IT WAS MY FAULT..I DIDNT HAVE PROCESSED CHEESE SO I USED SHREDDED AND DIDNT HAVE DIJON SO I USED REGULAR MUSTARD...I THREW IT ALL OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Good but nothing special. It's easy enough to make again but not sure I will. Just wasn't what I was hoping for. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I guesstimated the cheese and cut it into bite sized chunks, let it sit out until room temperature. Be careful cooking this in the microwave, one minute on high could burn it easily. I did the cheese first for thirty seconds, then stirred it and added a good splash of milk and a spoonful of Dijon mustard and stirred it in real good, then nuked again for thirty seconds. I continued to add a little Dijon until it reached the taste I wanted, I never came to the full amount the recipe calls for, so I'd suggest add and taste, since Dijon can over power if you add too much. This was a very easy topping for steamed broccoli and my family said to make it again. I love Velveeta on broccoli and the added tang of the Dijon was a very nice touch. The milk helps thin it a bit so it pours nicely over your vegetables and keeps it from hardening up too quick when cooling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
Quick, easy and YUMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I used shredded cheddar cheese because that's all I had. Next time I will increase the amount of cheese slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I agree with the last reviewer. Don't write a review that is totally useless. When I read reviews I am looking for valid information re: variations to the recipe. AND by the way I am 62 and this was a recipe my grandmother used when I was young except she used regular mustard....and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States