Tangy Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have been using a variation of this sauce on meatloaf for 38 years!! I mix 1/4 cup ketchup,3 Tbs brown sugar, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp DRY mustard and top a 1 and 1/2 pound meatloaf with sauce while baking. Never served it to anyone who didn't love it!! Also great to mix a little in with the mashed potatoes on your plate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent, quick and easy with a great taste. The only thing I changed was add some Worcestershire Sauce to it and turned out great on our barbecued chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This sauce was soooooo good!! And so easy!! I browned chicken drumsticks, and once they were cooked, I doubled the sauce recipe, (but there was ALOT) and put the chicken in the slowcooker, and drowned it with the sauce. My family devoured it for supper, then cleaned up all the leftovers for lunch. Definately will make again ... thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This sauce is perfect!! Everyone in my family loves it! The 1st time I used it ( on chicken), I didn't say anything to my family, and they didn't even notice it wasn't from a bottle! Then I told them, and they all said, "Don't buy it anymore then, make this!" So, I don't! I've made this sauce for lots of dishes now, and it's always good! Thanks for the rcipe, Jenine!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Odessa, Michigan, USA
Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Loved this sauce! My husband said we won't need to buy any anymore! I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire Sauce and Liquid Smoke, and reduced the amount of sugar to just a little over 1/4 cup. For the prepared mustard, I used horseradish mustard. Great recipe-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
There are so many BBQ sauce recipes, I don't know why I tried this and not others. It turned out to be just ketchup taste. None of my guest could tell it is BBQ sauce. Everyone thought this is just ordinary ketchup. It is also way too sweet, so it turned out to be a VERY SWEET KETCHUP. I followed this recipe to the dot, so would consider this a fail one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I am not a big barbecue fan. I will eat barbecue however it it if it is tangy. I was looking for a tangy recipe and this one was not it. It was way too sweet for my taste. I am not sure why it is named Tangy Barbecue Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Tasted just like brown sugared ketchup which to my family is not bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I didn't need a lot of barbecue sauce so I cut the recipe in half, but used a little less brown sugar-- 1/4 cup instead of 1/3 cup. Also I didn't have any nutmeg so I used Saigon cinnamon (Costco) which has a sweet-hot flavor. It was very good and I will definitely used this recipe whenever I need barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made barbecue chicken sandwiches with this from leftover chicken. This fits all the criteria: quick, easy, and good! You can doctor it up anyway you like (hot sauce etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States