Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe is a keeper. Everyone loved it. I had a couple guest that said they did not like cranberries......but they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe! My family loved the sauce. The texture was great, good amount of tartness and not too sweet or bitter. Couldn't find star anise, but I didn't miss it once I tasted the sauce. Very easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Very good! Even though I had to use ground cinnamon (I had ground up all my cin sticks previously) and used a few shakes of 5 spice (didn't have star anise) AND grated in fresh nutmeg vs cloves...this turned out really well. Only did half the recipe (for 2 of us). As good as it was then, I realized I had 1/2 C of crushed pineapple I wanted to use up so that got incorporated too. Also, did half sugar & 1/2 honey. If per chance you have leftovers, I used mine (about 2/3 C) for a sweet n sour sauce base (added water, then strained) and it was an interesting way to create something else from this. Probably would be good for a pork roast glaze also. Just some ideas. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made for Christmas dinner with ham - delicious, and did not change a thing! Next time would probably use only 3/4 c. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was a huge hit, even with someone who doesn't like traditions messed with! I was sure he would turn his nose up and wonder where's the cranberry sauce, but he raved about this version. I didn't have a tangerine so I used orange juice and skipped the zest. My only criticism is that by the time the sauce cooked, I couldn't find the cloves to remove. No one else mentioned finding any but I did in a bite of intense clovey-ness. I think next time I may use ground clove to avoid that issue. But thanks Chef John for another fabulous recipe that's now a permanent addition to my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Loved it and followed the recipe... tangerines, too. I was surprised how it thickened up by morning. Delish. Next time will try it with Splenda and dial it back just a bit (Hubs isn't supposed to eat sugar). This was like thick, tangy candy. Chef John, I did not reveal this is an EASY PEASY recipes per directions in the video. The poppin' berry was a great detail, reassuring me that all was right in the pan. And yes we did ENJOY. Thanks bunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
10 out of 10! Delicous and easy. Will never serve the canned stuff again. I could not find star anise so I substituted with anis oil 1/4 tsp was a bit strong but still scrumptous. Made the second batch with 1/8 tsp of anis and doubled the cinnamin and cloves..... even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Great stuff! Easy to make and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Tried this for the first time this weekend, and absolutely loved it. There were actually no leftovers, so am getting ready to make another batch. Wonderful balance of sweet, tart, citrus and zing (anise) at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States