Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Much better the next day out of the fridge. The base cake is good with added 1/4 tsp of salt and extra 1/2 tsp baking powder. This cake was so easy to make,why use boxed chemical mix. A smaller pan made for a thicker cake, it didn't come out dry. Half I covered with peanut butter on the other half Strawberry compote. Topped with melted chocolate chips (tsp veg oil and a 1/4 cup cream to loosen)... I had a piece warm, meh.. The next morning, delish. Cold is key. I prefer the strawberry side SO prefers the peanut butter side..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
so easy to make, I have to use cashew butter, am allergic to peanut butter, I think its even better because the cashew butter is creamier and a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Patton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I love the tasty cake candy cakes and this is exactly that but even better! I used nestle toll house milk chocolate chips in place of the candy bar (my son loves that chocolate)...didn't find it hard to cut at all using the chips. I let it set about 10 minutes in fridge then cut...perfection! Yummy!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My kids loved this recipe, it was a hit at my house. I would recommend using a chocolate bar and not chocolate chips they become very hard. I would recommend everyone to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My husband and kids loved it! They said it tastes right like the real thing...I would make it again in a heart beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Too much chocolate, next time I make this it will be just 1 pound of chocolate. Otherwise, the recipe Is right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I had this recipe in my favorite cookbook.I made this for years.Lost the cookbook.I used this recipe,but messed up used 2 cups of milk.They didn't turn out right.But will try again these are hubby's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've tried this recipe twice, the first time I used chocolate chips and they did harden too much and crack when I cut them but not too bad. The second time I used chocolate bars like the recipe suggested and it was terrible, the chocolate cracked and flaked way too much when I cut it. It taste great but the chocolate bars do not work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This recipe was awesome. My husband asked for a Tastycake KandyKake cake for fathers day. I tried this recipe and it was incredible!! Its hard to please everyone in my house, but this did it! I read the reviews and some said that the cake was bland, but we didnt think so. It was my favorite part!!! I followed the recipe exactly and did use some tips the reviews gave such as scoring the chocolate, it did make it much easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Fantastic, but I did make a few modifications. I made them as cupcakes so they were easier to take to a picnic. And I made a few changes in the topping... Instead of plain peanut butter, I blended the peanut butter with butter and powdered sugar. This made it a tad sweeter and creamier. I also used chocolate chips for the topping, but to prevent the hardening issue just add a few drops of canola oil to them when melting in the microwave. The chocolate will be creamy and easy to spread, but will still harden up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States