Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I just made this cake for a girls night party, as I have had it before when a co-worker brought it into a work party. It is very good, especially if you like the chocolate and peanut butter combination. I did use boxed yellow cake mix, and I only used 1 pound of chocolate bars since I think 2 pounds is overkill. I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great idea for topping a cake. I used a box mix yellow cake, I ended up using about 1=1/2 cups of creamy peanut butter, dolluped onto the hot cake and gently spread. I started with 1-1/2 pounds of Hershey bars{the giant ones}and only used about 1-1/4 pounds, one pound will be plenty next time....Definitely score the chocolate before it is completely set.....Great bars for a picnic, the chocolate holds everything together to make a cake finger food. I rated it 4 stars because the expense of buying so much chocolate and not needing but half of it is a real downer in my book. This recipe{adjusted} is most definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mammak
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Very Nice. I only used one pack(6 bars of chocolate) Will use more next time. I broke the candy bars into pieces....should have left whole. I added the peanut butter and the chocolate to the cake while it was still hot as suggested by others and worked fine. I might make the cake so it is not so tall next time (personal preference). The cake was very similar to a hot milk cake. It didn't last long at all! Over all great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Great recipe. It was very easy to make. I followed others suggestions and put the PB on right away. I gave this recipe to my sister who is not a cook and she had no problem with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This photo doesn't look like the recipe. I've made this cake for years and have rave reviews every time I serve it. I started using a box yellow cake mix and bake in a cookie sheet at 350 for 15 minutes. It's just as good. Melt the chocolate and spread entirely over the peanut butter (after it's been chilled). You shouldn't see any peanut butter. A fast desert to feed a gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This is an excellent recipe but you don't have to cool down the cake/peanut butter before putting the chocolate on. We have the chocolate bars broken up when the cake comes out, place the pb on and let melt and spread out then place the chocolate pieces on top and let melt and then gently spread out without mixing the pb and chocolate. It's much easier than cooling and melting, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I'd never heard of Tandy Cake before but it sounded interesting and it is excellent! I used butter instead of margarine and only about three quarters of a pound of chocolate. The second time I baked this I spread the peanut butter while the cake was hot (which I will do from now on) and, because my chocolate seized up when I melted it, I had to throw it out and make an icing with butter, cocoa, confectioner's sugar and cream. It was just as popular. The cake itself is terrific and would be a good base for other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This was a really good cake. The cake part was delicious and had an awesome texture and flavor, and the peanut butter and chocolate on top was perfect. I couldn't bring myself to use the full amount of peanut butter and chocolate (eeek, 2 POUNDS?!) but even without the entire amount it still tasted great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I've made this 3 times and each time it was the hit of the desserts. Tastes just like the old Tandycakes and everyone can't stop eating it! Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years. My husband and kids are addicted! Definately score the chocolate while it is not quite hard. This will make cutting into pieces much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States