Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
delicious as is...I think I overdid how many chocolate bars I melted, but too much chocolate is not a bad thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNETOND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This tastes exactly like a kandy cake!!!! i think that someone mentioned that the cake was too spongy but that is the was it's supposed to be. I didn't have a 10x15 pan so i used a 9x13 baking dish so it was less bar like and more cake like but that didn't stop my entire family from devouring it! My mom constantly askes me when I'm going to make this again. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is okay. The cake part is not very flavorful. May be better with yellow or chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This has been a great hit for all the kids that come to my house! Everyone loves it and it reminds them of the northern treat Tastey Cake!! Quick, easy and everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF  RED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I, too, have been making this for years and only now decided to review it. This recipe makes a very moist and lovely sponge cake. I apply the peanut butter as soon as the cake comes out of the oven. Then I transfer the cake to the freezer for 1 hour until the peanut butter is set. This makes it very easy to apply the melted chocolate which I then score before it gets hard. Everyone just loves it. A simple recipe with professional results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe! We've been using this for years and now I can find it here instead of trying to find my recipe card! One thing I do differently is spread the peanut butter on immediately after removing the cake from the oven. I don't even measure it, just spread it on. The peanut butter melts a little making it easier to spread, if the cake cools the peanut butter is difficult to spread and pulls the top of the cake off. I also use milk chocolate chips instead of the candy bar, we like the chocolate a little thick so melt one and half bags of the chips and spread on top after the peanut butter is cooled and set (I put the cake in the fridge for that part.) After the chocolate is spread on the top and begins to set I score the top before it is hardened making it easier to cut. Delicious cake! You won't be disappointed! Thanks for posting it, Rebecca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coalport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Truly addictive if you love peanut butter and chocolate! I cut them in smaller portions (40-48 per 10 x 15" sheet). For anyone on Weight Watcher, if you cut them to make 48 portions it is 3 points ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This dessert was a hit!! I followed the recipe exactly. The cake was the perfect consistency. I melted milk chocolate chips with a little bit of vegetable oil for the top. PERFECTION!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvsweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Well the die-hard "Reeces" fans liked this cake a lot. I found it a tad too rich for me. I had to fit it in a 9 x 13" baking dish but it baked up nicely. Maybe needing an extra 10 minutes at the most. Expect the cake to be spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These are very good and very easy to make. Try these tips: as soon as you take the cake out of the oven drop tablespoons of peanut butter on the cake. Wait a 30 seconds and spread with a rubber spatula. Place the cake in the refrigerator for 30 minutes and then pour melted chocolate on the cake. Place back in the fridge for 10 minutes. If you want to use the cakes for a party or picnic cut them at this time- they come out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States