Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe! My mom makes this for dessert for our cookouts all summer. But I'll offer a clarification, which transplanted Philluffyans and other denizens of Southeast PA will know--it's either "Kandy Kake", or the original, much cooler Tastykake name, "Tandy Take". "All the good things, wrapped up in one!" Prost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Baron
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I only used one pound of chocolate because that was all I had in the house. it was just fine with one pound! This recipe is great! I tasted the cake before I added the PB and chocolate and thought it was too sweet, but it tastes perfect when it is finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: East Fallowfield Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Amazing! I added a tablespoon of powder sugar to the penut butter. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I really wanted this recipe to taste just like a Philly Candy Cake! I thought it was very good with all of the layers of cake, peanut butter and chocolate. But, when tasting the cake alone, it was very bland and tasted like it was missing something, maybe salt? I love the concept but will look for another cake recipe that has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I always get rave reviews when I make this. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKigloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT! Takes exactly like a Tastycake! I made mine in a 9X13 pan & it was still great. The sponge cake was fabulous & moist. I would suggest using the recipe included, instead of a box mix. I used Jif PB & melted Hershey bars for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is such a yummy cake. I've been making it longer than I can remember. It was one of the first cakes I learned to make as a kid. As is it's a five star cake but I've also experimented with it over the years. I generally use chocolate chips or a Semi-Sweet Chocolate bar. I also sometimes make it in my bundt pan and after the peanut butter cools I melt the chocolate in a plastic bag snip off the corner and drizzle it over the top. It is much easier to cut this way and a bit prettier. It's especially pretty if you use dark, milk and white chocolate to drizzle over the top of the bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I have probably made this recipe 100 times and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIEDUX36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States