Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Awesome. This is so similar to the recipe my mom made when we were kids. So much better than the store bought ones with all the preservatives and chemicals!!! Followed most of the recipe to a T... I used parchment paper under my cake in my jellyroll pan and it made it easier to cut and release in the end. I used a half jar of natural Jiff Peanut Butter, and only one pound of Hershey chocolate bar. I chilled the peanut butter layer before pouring the melted chocolate on. I also scored the entire pan into pieces before the chocolate completely set up. These are delicious right out of the fridge! But then again I LOVE chilled candy bars. I might even invent some "Tandy Cake Ice Cream" if there are any leftovers... which is unlikely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Loved it! Just like Tastycakes here in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Being close to the Philadelphia area I grew up eating Tandykakes which I always loved. When my son was 2 years old my sister in law gave me this recipe and have been making them for him ever since and he is now 32 so you know that this recipe stands the test of time. In fact he always asked me to make this for him instead of a traditional birthday cake. The only thing I do different is to scald my milk on top of the stove and just use one of the big Hershey bars. I always tell everyone who asks for the recipe that if you like Tandykakes you will love these more. I now have my future son in law asking me to make this for his birthday too then he usually calls my son who lives quite a few hours away and rubs it in that hes eating them and not him..thank goodness they are best friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Even better than the "Original" Tastykake. When I removed the cake from the oven, I put the peanut butter on (Skippy Natural, 15 oz. whole jar) in dabs while the cake was still quite warm, let sit a minute or two and then spread. The peanut butter gets really runny, but once the cake cools down, the peant butter solidifies. After refrigerating, I melted one bag of the Hersheys Milk Chocolate Chips (11.5 oz) in the microwave and spread over the top. After refrigerating again, sliced up the bars and YUMMY! The Hersheys Milk Chocolate chips stay fairly soft, and are easily cut without breaking up or having to add oil as some others have run across when using chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe! My mom makes this for dessert for our cookouts all summer. But I'll offer a clarification, which transplanted Philluffyans and other denizens of Southeast PA will know--it's either "Kandy Kake", or the original, much cooler Tastykake name, "Tandy Take". "All the good things, wrapped up in one!" Prost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Baron
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I only used one pound of chocolate because that was all I had in the house. it was just fine with one pound! This recipe is great! I tasted the cake before I added the PB and chocolate and thought it was too sweet, but it tastes perfect when it is finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: East Fallowfield Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Amazing! I added a tablespoon of powder sugar to the penut butter. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I really wanted this recipe to taste just like a Philly Candy Cake! I thought it was very good with all of the layers of cake, peanut butter and chocolate. But, when tasting the cake alone, it was very bland and tasted like it was missing something, maybe salt? I love the concept but will look for another cake recipe that has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States