Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Everyone enjoyed it. Make sure to have plenty of milk on hand. You'll have time between layers to go get some. You'll also need room in fridge/freezer once peanut butter is added to cool it so you can spread warm chocolate easier. We used "Magic Bullet" (blender) to make chocolate bar into powder before microwave. Had extra chocolate but kids loved helping with that! The cake is a dense but airy cake. We only had a 9x13 pan. I'll be looking for a bigger one for next time so it's thinner. Used knife to score warm chocolate and it made it easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The cake part is great but this recipe calls for too much chocolate. I use only 2 7oz Hershey Bars and add 2 Tbsp of butter and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. It works great if the cake is slightly warm when you add the PB so that it melts sorta and spreads easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mical

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
There is no need for 2 lbs of chocolate. It's too thick and cracks as you cut it. 1 bag of bag of chocolate chips melted with a table spoon of peanut butter will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This recipe is just like the Tasty Cake brand! However we use chocolate chips and it turns out great every time. We have never used Hershey bars. But we never had a problem cutting them. Also 2 lbs of chocolate really is way to much! 1 lb is plenty! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Much better the next day out of the fridge. The base cake is good with added 1/4 tsp of salt and extra 1/2 tsp baking powder. This cake was so easy to make,why use boxed chemical mix. A smaller pan made for a thicker cake, it didn't come out dry. Half I covered with peanut butter on the other half Strawberry compote. Topped with melted chocolate chips (tsp veg oil and a 1/4 cup cream to loosen)... I had a piece warm, meh.. The next morning, delish. Cold is key. I prefer the strawberry side SO prefers the peanut butter side..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
so easy to make, I have to use cashew butter, am allergic to peanut butter, I think its even better because the cashew butter is creamier and a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Patton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I love the tasty cake candy cakes and this is exactly that but even better! I used nestle toll house milk chocolate chips in place of the candy bar (my son loves that chocolate)...didn't find it hard to cut at all using the chips. I let it set about 10 minutes in fridge then cut...perfection! Yummy!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My kids loved this recipe, it was a hit at my house. I would recommend using a chocolate bar and not chocolate chips they become very hard. I would recommend everyone to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My husband and kids loved it! They said it tastes right like the real thing...I would make it again in a heart beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Too much chocolate, next time I make this it will be just 1 pound of chocolate. Otherwise, the recipe Is right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States