Tam's Black Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Best black eyed peas ever! I'm a vegetarian, so I left out the turkey and the sausage, but everything else I cooked as directed. I served it with turnip greens and the homesteader's cornbread from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe ever! I will cook this for my family for years to come! Thank you for sharing it! Happy New Year :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I know I made a pot of black-eyed peas last year and I used a recipe on AR but I couldn't remember which one and I guess I forgot to rate it. Used this recipe with some changes (namely a leftover ham bone instead of the turkey leg) and used another recipe on here (CB's) for the method in a slow cooker. Thanks for the inspiration---just tasted some and they were delish! Happy New Year! Thanks, Tam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious!!! My family loved it. I only used 2 hot links, but the flavor was still great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
gr8 gr8 recipe... have made these twice already... rave reviews everytime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I used dried black-eyed peas and just smoked turkey necks (no turkey legs or sausage). Very good. Boiled turkey necks and other ingredients for about an hour, poured peas in and simmered for about 1.5 hours, and it turned out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this for New Years 2010! Absolutely the best!!! I truly don't think you could top this. I couldn't find a smoked turkey leg so I used a smoked turkey sausage and I added all the last hour the peas were cooking. I also used dried black eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made these for New Year's Day dinner. Best EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States