Tam's Black Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
this was my first time making black eyed peas that didn't come out of a can and they taste amazing! I used smoked turkey wings instead of a leg and no beef sausage (my father doesn't eat red meat) and I diced some green peppers in as well. I also used dried beans instead of frozen. So pleased with my first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
WOW! This was the best Black eyed peas recipe I have ever tasted. Made them for NYE and everyone loved them. I made them exactly to the recipe and I could not have hoped for better results. Thanks so much for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved Loved Loved the only thing I did differently was leave out the sausage. My daughter never eats beans but she ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are out of control GOOD! You can spice them up however but don't leave out the turkey leg! I didn't use sausage, added some bay leaves and celery and used a broth/water combo. I will probably reduce the amount of liquid by atleast a cup next time. YUMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Best black eyed peas ever! I'm a vegetarian, so I left out the turkey and the sausage, but everything else I cooked as directed. I served it with turnip greens and the homesteader's cornbread from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe ever! I will cook this for my family for years to come! Thank you for sharing it! Happy New Year :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I know I made a pot of black-eyed peas last year and I used a recipe on AR but I couldn't remember which one and I guess I forgot to rate it. Used this recipe with some changes (namely a leftover ham bone instead of the turkey leg) and used another recipe on here (CB's) for the method in a slow cooker. Thanks for the inspiration---just tasted some and they were delish! Happy New Year! Thanks, Tam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious!!! My family loved it. I only used 2 hot links, but the flavor was still great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States