Tamra's Microwave Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Substituted dill for tarragon and left out the vinegar and it still is quick to make dinner in 5 minutes. Thanks Tamra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This recipe made me love tilapia! Most fish cooked in the microwave becomes tough and inedible...but to my surprise, my tilapia was fully cooked in 3 minutes, and still tender, juicy, and sweet. I followed the recipe the first time I made it, since then I just add whatever spices catch my attention when I'm making it. But I highly recommend this one, it's fast, it's easy, and it's oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I only microwaved one tilapia fillet that had previously been frozen. I wasn't sure how long to "cook" it for so I started with a minute. It was making a popping noise, so I stopped it and went to flip it, and it started falling apart, so I figured it was finished. I used red wine vinegar and italian seasoning because that was all I had! I enjoyed the vinegar on the fish. Not sure I would make this often because tilapia already cooks so fast on the stove or in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Easy and quick. Everybody liked it but said it could use a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is surprisingly good! Like other skeptics, I wasn't sure about microwaving fish, but I only had a few minutes to come up with something for lunch and I had some tilapia fillets in the fridge. I didn't have any apple cider so I put a splash of lemon juice on each fillet before cooking, and fillets were gobbled down by myself and the kids in about the same time it took to cook them! They were especially tasty with fresh tarragon from my garden. My fillets took the full 4 minutes of cooking time, but I did check them after flipping them as it seems that other reviewers took only 3 total minutes. Must depend on the thickness of the fillets. I also put a pinch of kosher salt on each fillet after cooking and that made them just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Awesome! Fast, easy, and delicious! I also put some Mrs. Dash Lemon and Garlic seasoning on it as well as some sea salt. Great with rice! I will be making this A LOT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We loved this! I used 2 thin filets & they were done with just the 2 minutes. I used dried Tarragon (didn't have fresh) and just a few drops of the vinegar. My husband said "this is good, we should make fish tacos with it". I'm going to do that for my lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I had no idea you could microwave fish. This is a 5-star recipe for what it is--quick microwave cooking. It came out perfectly. I went light on the apple cider vinegar because of some negative comments in the reviews, and I ended up adding more after I started eating it. The flavor blended very well with the other flavors, and next time I'll put the whole amount on right away. I used dried tarragon, but would love to try it with fresh. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Tilapia is a fish that is not a staple in our household.This recipe worked perfectly in the micro wave oven as written.The only changes made were Herbs de Provence for the tarragon and rice vinegar for the apple cider vinegar, using half the amount of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Made one large filet for kids sub'd Herbs de Provonce for Tarragon. Only needed 1 min for first side and just over 30 seconds for back side. Mixed apple juce with white wine vinegar instead also. Mildly flavored perfect for kids...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States