Tammy's Philly Cheese Steak Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this with Steak Ums like some of the other reviewers, that was a mistake! It was really greasy and nasty. I tasted it before adding the (drained) meat and liked it, so I'm going to try again with real roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used one ginormous red bell pepper (we don't care for green bell pepper), the last dredges of a bottle of Newman's italian dressing (it was around a half cup, I didn't measure.....I was in a hurry), reduced fat cream cheese/mayonnaise and I upped the roast beef to a full pound. I didn't have time to throw it in a baking pan, I just tossed everything into my small crockpot and let it go until we got back home at noon. Boys literally inhaled this in less than twenty minutes. I served it with day-old toasted bread and Wheat Thins. HUGE hit. Next time I might increase the provolone, but it's not hugely necessary. They loved it regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This dip is great!!! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. It truly taste like a real cheese steak. I made it for a party and everyone gobbled it up. I actually prefer it served with the hoagie buns. I thought this was such a clever idea to make a sandwich out of a dip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Really really good. I had to substitute some things because I realized I had no Italian dressing so I used olive oil, red wine vinegar, basil, oregano. garlic and black pepper. The results were awesome. When I took it out of the even there was a layer of grease on the top but I placed a paper towel over it for a few minutes and it absorbed all the excess oil nicely. I don't know if that was because of subbing oil for dressing but the taste was awesome. I definately want to try it with the Italian dressing but it was yummy as I made it. I served it with garlic bagel chips and Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really, really enjoyed this recipe! I realized that I only had light zesty italian dressing and went with it anyways, and it turned out GREAT! I did replace the roast beef with thin sliced steaks that I cooked ahead of time and chopped up (for a more authentic taste). I will definately be making this again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Ver Good recipe. I used Steak-Ums and added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! The only thing I do different is add the chopped roast beef in the skillet when cooking the onion and green pepper. I prefer my roast beef browned. I follow everything else exactly and it comes out great every time! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I too add garlic but followed everything else. Delicious with crusty bread or pretzel rolls! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELE4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was an ok dip. I used steakums and found that it was greasy. Would not make again. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This is a great way to use up leftover roast beef! I didn't have green peppers(have indigestion issues with them...UGH!) and subbed yellow and red and orange peppers (I know, not too far off but for us they are a bit milder) and they worked out very well. Used mozzarella because thats what I had but will definitely try with provolone next time as the recipe states...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States