Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I make a veggie version by sauteing a chopped onion, green pepper, and a can of whole kernel corn together, then adding 2 cans of pinto or black beans and cooking until beans begin to become thick and start to fall apart a little. After I put the beans on top, I push a whole green olive (pitted) through into the lower crust every few inches throughout the pie. To me green olives add a LOT to this recipe, though kids might not be fans. I love tamale pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this for my two teenage sons and they loved it. I added a little cumin and chili powder to the meat/sauce mixture to give it a bit more flavor. We had a little leftover and it tasted better the next day..... TIP:Don't cook cornmeal too long, it will get too thick and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was really good! I'm going to try it with chicken next time and add some shredded cheddar to the cornbread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Good recipe. I used Marie Calendar's Corn Bread mix instead of the cornmeal and also added cumin to the recipe. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERCAT99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Here is the modifications I made: I only used the evaporated milk with 3/4 cup of cornmeal. I also used half a bunch green onions in the meat mixture. It's very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Great recipe! I spiced it up a bit by adding a serrano and jalapeno pepper to the filling, as well as a little cumin and extra garlic. Quick and tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Kind of bland, my family just thought it was okay, I think maybe the cornmeal needed to be kicked up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3EEES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Have made it twice now and both turned out wonderful! This last go round I used left over grilled chicken (diced), and put jalepeno peppers in the cornbread mixture. Wonderful dish especially for those night you haven't alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Hall, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
The meat mixture is the only thing good about this recipe. The cornmeal mixture is way too much. I think if would be much better if you were to just make the cornmeal according to regular cornbread directions. My husband hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Nice flavor, but sort of plain. I will spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States