Tamale Pie Pronto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This recipe was really easy however I did make some changes to the formula. I used shredded chicken instead of beef, omited the chili beans, and used a can of french onion soup to cook the chicken in prior to shredding. Also used a bag variation of Bisquick biscuits (garlic/cheese) instead of pre-mades. We barely had enough for leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Excellent! i will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Mmmmmm! Made a few changes. Along with the ingredients I also added some garlic powder, a can of diced green chiles and a large potato diced up very finely. Then I simmered the meat mixture on the stove for about 30 minutes to let the flavors really infuse. Instead of biscuits I used two boxes of good old Jiffy Cornbread batter (prepared according to directions) and spread it on the bottom of the pan. Then I spooned the meat mixture on top and added the cheese. Cooked for 40 minutes. This is wonderful! So easy to prepare and good comfort food. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Codez
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I used diced chicken vs ground beef just because that is what I had thawed. I subbed in a can of Rotel for the regular can of chopped tomatoes since I love the flavor/spice but I did totally leave out the ketchup. I just didn’t think it belonged for my taste. Very good! I will make this again!! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Codez
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight, and it was great! Nothing fancy, but super quick and easy...definitely good on a cold night (the few we have in Florida!). I varied just a little bit after reading other reviews - substituted a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles for the chopped tomatoes, added a little garlic powder, cumin, and a touch of cayenne. We will most definitely be keeping this recipe on hand, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Tasty dish and quick to make. I did make some changes as I wanted more of an Italian-style dish. Check out my custom version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good! I used ground turkey, added carrots, and Jiffy cornbread mix(instead of biscuit dough)on top, no cheese. Seasoned with cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was really good! I did sub 2 boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix (prepared as per box) for the biscuits. I used Green Giant Mexican Style corn. I also added chopped chili peppers,cumin, and garlic powder to the recipe, kept everything else as is. Def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Biscuits were still doughy after 25 minutes, but cheese was browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good!! I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States